Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 68

    Breaking the Terms and Conditions - Your Views Welcome

    This is a discussion on Breaking the Terms and Conditions - Your Views Welcome within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Or more's the point, how I can bear to stay with Sky Broadband. And frankly that's it. I've been pushed ...

    1. #11
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: crc errors

      Or more's the point, how I can bear to stay with Sky Broadband. And frankly that's it. I've been pushed too far. All the things I've done have been motivated solely by the desire to make being a Sky Broadband customer a better experience for both myself and others. If Sky are unhappy about that, then "fudge" 'em. I'm looking for a new ISP.

      Oh and a quick heads up to anyone in Sky Public Relations, I'm going public on the security flaw on the V1 router, so get your act together, because there's going to be a fair bit of brown stuff flying in your direction pretty soon.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is online now Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,139
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 46 Times in 44 Posts

      Re: crc errors

      I think how its used determines whether you break the t&c's. I see no harm in using it to view error levels. Lets face it, many users have and addressed the problem - usually internal wiring. This may well have prevented many calls to sky and the avoidance of unneccessary caps.


    4. #13
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: crc errors

      i agree totally with what you are saying but i was just informing levineg that there are risks involved in changing settings i apoligise if i have made anyone angry over this because personally i do not care about skys rules.

    5. #14
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is online now Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,139
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 46 Times in 44 Posts

      Re: crc errors

      np - i'm not angry


    6. #15
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: crc errors

      Well I am (angry, that is). I hadn't even read the particular part of the Terms and Conditions. I had assumed, perhaps naively, perhaps understandably, that the section entitled "Your Wireless Router" listed all the restrictions on router use. But it now seems that isn't the whole picture. There's me thinking that I was doing my best to keep within the T&C's, but now it appears that I was not.

      And the cheek, the damned cheek of Sky to put these haughty instructions on what I can and cannot do with my own property, whilst they urinate all over the licence terms of the firmware on that router is an outrage.

      • Two weeks without a router when I first signed up, with repeated incorrect assertions that the router had been dispatched when it hadn't.
      • Forcing me to use a router which has flawed software and telling me the bare-faced lie that it was my line and how it needed to be capped
      • Their hypocritical assertion about what I can and can't do with the firmware on the router when they are basically IP thieves
      • The wholy inadequate response to the revelation that the V1 router is dispatched in a unsecured state, most likely leaving a huge proportion of the 1 million routers open to all manner of crime


      No, I've had it with Sky. I've absolutely had it with them. They've picked the wrong person to hack off, I can tell you.

    7. #16
      djkemp1's Avatar
      djkemp1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: crc errors

      in regards to forcing you to use their router, yes this is the case however i think i read somewhere that this goes against what the EU says. and if they started to kick people off for using their own router i think it may cause uproar with a lot of people and attract the wrong sot of attention with people higher up, do you not think?

      i use my own router as the sky netgear router is just useless, it has wireless yes but it doesn't work as it should, i get fluctuations all the time with the speed i receive going from 600kb to 3800kb when using the wireless devices, however with my router i use now i get a constant 3800kb all the time. as well as this as mentioned before there are a lot of security flaws etc and upnp problems. what other companies say is that you are able to use your own equipment but they will be unable to help technically if anything goes wrong, which is fair enough. i just don't see how and why they are trying to force people to use 'dud' routers.

      what does everyone else think?

    8. #17
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is online now Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,139
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 46 Times in 44 Posts

      Re: crc errors

      They want you to use their router because they have future plans for internet tv / movies etc. A service I for 1 wont be interested in.


    9. #18
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: crc errors

      well i think the reason that they make you use there router is to make the tech support job easier as then they only have to support one router

    10. #19
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is online now Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,139
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 46 Times in 44 Posts

      Re: crc errors

      Which one would that be then ? the netgear V1, V2 or the sagem
      Tho I do agree with what you say I still think there are future plans which need one of the above routers to work.


    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVSEF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Asus DSL-N55U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Liverpool, Merseyside
      Posts
      9,373
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 124 Times in 123 Posts

      Re: crc errors

      think he meant one set of settings...or that's how i'd take it
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO