Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Losing connection and need help!!

This is a discussion on Losing connection and need help!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, newbie here and wondering of someone could help before I pull all my hair out and go bankrupt phoning ...

Miss K is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Unhappy Losing connection and need help!!

Hello, newbie here and wondering of someone could help before I pull all my hair out and go bankrupt phoning Sky!!!!

Have had Sky package for about 6 months (after 2 and a half very happy years with Virgin) and have since day one had problems with intermittent losing connection.

I just need assistance with the filters I think despite the fact I have it set up the same way I had it with Virgin in my old house and had no problems, it seems to be (according to Sky) the problem.
      Okay...

Main phone line is in hall so I have a filter in it and then there is an extension cable running under the flooring to the living room where the Sky box and phone is - no problems. Phone line is good.

I have my PC in my bedroom and this is where the problems start. There is a phone box in my room but I don't want the PC right beside it so there is a small extension cable (3 feet or so) to the PC. So basically the set up is - phone box with no filter and extension cable and then filter and then plugged into modem. Is this right? It's just if I put a filter on the phone box then where do I plug the modem into?