Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Fire Alarm Systems & ADSL?

    This is a discussion on Fire Alarm Systems & ADSL? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Dunno about this. But I've got... Sync D: 576 kbps / U: 288 kbps. Line D: 14 db / U: ...

    1. #1
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Fire Alarm Systems & ADSL?

      Dunno about this. But I've got...

      Sync D: 576 kbps / U: 288 kbps.
      Line D: 14 db / U: 3 db.
      Noise: D: 31 db / U: 31 db.

      AOL Silver up to 2megs. Fearful AOL may have put me on 512 kbps for some reason.

      I also am in a set of four apartments. With an alarm system. I'm sure the apartments were built before 2003. It's a Fireline MAG 2 Fire Alarm System. and I have a funny feeling it may be the reason I maybe getting such bad speeds for an ADSL product.

      This alarm system...if the cause...will probably put we off switching to another provider...unless I can prove it's not the cause.

      Rang BT Broadband...they said the alarm system shouldn't affect my speeds.

      So either I'm being capped by AOL or the alarm system is interfering.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Fire Alarm Systems & ADSL?

      Unless the alarm is connected to your own line, and as it is an alarm for the whole block (?) then I'am sure it is not, you can discount it Have you tried contacting your landlord/management company? there is bound to be a service contract for it and that company would know for sure.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Fire Alarm Systems & ADSL?

      basically, ANYTHING running through your phone system has to be filtered...

      with regards to you other posts asking the same thing - your SNR is high as you're heavily capped by AOL/BT - moving to Sky will see a near 16Mbps connection so long as everything your end is up to scratch...and you're on the LLU of course. If you end up on Connect, 8Mbps will be easy...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wink Re: Fire Alarm Systems & ADSL?

      For simplicity's sake I tried calling BT to ask them to do a line check to tell me if there appears to be a connection to an alarm system. The UK rep sent me to the Broadband dept (ugh!) in Mumbai. They couldn't check my line. Wow that'd be some line check!! LOL

      So what your saying' is...by right I would only have an alarm on my phoneline if I were in a single house. But not were there is multiple tennancy.

      That WAS my initial gut feeling. But then I got paranoid. AOL will do that to ya I tells'ya. LOL

      I'm going to take the plunge to go to Sky in about a week. Yey!

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Fire Alarm Systems & ADSL?

      eh? im confused...

      how many phone lines are there in the property?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fire Alarm Systems & ADSL?

      LOL. I'm a renting tennant in an apartment. One of four that share a hallway that has this infamous fire alarm system in it. The alarm system is for those four apartments.

      I'm just saying it's more likely for Joe Bloggs & family in a detatched house with ADT security to have ADSL problems on his line with an alarm...than me.

    8. #7
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Fire Alarm Systems & ADSL?

      I don't think ADT do anything special that my Yale alarms (two, garage and house) do. Both of mine are ADSL filtered and neither cause issues for my Sky ADSL line. The alarms are basically the same as a standard telephone, they make a phone call when an alarm event happens.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    9. #8
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Talking Re: Fire Alarm Systems & ADSL?

      Light-weight question:

      Is it not true that most alarm systems before 2003 did not always need to have an ADSL filter fitted as mandatory though?

      I'm going to get SKy in...and meet any problems that might arise as they come.

    10. #9
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fire Alarm Systems & ADSL?

      Quote Originally Posted by mj_asylum View Post
      Sync D: 576 kbps / U: 288 kbps.
      Line D: 14 db / U: 3 db.
      Noise: D: 31 db / U: 31 db.
      Looking at those noisemargin stats ans the classic 576/288 sync speeds, I'm convinced you're on a 512k BT IPStream line (I.E. Capped at 512k).

    11. #10
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fire Alarm Systems & ADSL?



      Why did they cap me? Worried my stats were to good? Were AOL worried I'd take over the world with my evil router stats. TOO MUCH POWER!!! Mwahahahahaha!!!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION