Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Just got connected to Sky MAX.

    This is a discussion on Just got connected to Sky MAX. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello Was watching Shameless (12:10am) and my phone rang and then stopped so I turned on my pc and hello ...

    1. #1
      stewart1988's Avatar
      stewart1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just got connected to Sky MAX.

      Hello
      Was watching Shameless (12:10am) and my phone rang and then stopped so I turned on my pc and hello internet Today was my activation date.

      Went straight to 192.168.0.1 to check my speed and was rather disappointed..

      Downstream:
      Connection Speed 7424 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45 db
      Noise Margin 2 db

      Upstream:
      Connection Speed 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 13 db
      Noise Margin 13 db

      Upstream is fine right but if im paying for the MAX package should I be ringing them to maybe change our package to the MID if my line cant recieve more than 8mb?

      I just tried my newgroups and got an average of about 400kb/s which I was getting faster when I was on TalkTalk (500-600kb/s)

      Speed tests also show around 6000-7000 kbps.

      Should I leave it afew days and maybe it will sort itself out or is that the max of my line?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Just got connected to Sky MAX.

      Hi

      You have similar stats to mine and about the same sync so your speed for your attenuation is about right.

      As for Max or Mid

      Max Upto 16Mb Down / 768kbs Up - No Caps (although rumoured 250gb)
      Mid Upto 8Mb Down / 416kbs Up - Capped at 40gb - No known case of enforcement

      As for downloads on Usergroups - Have you opened the correct ports on the router?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      stewart1988's Avatar
      stewart1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got connected to Sky MAX.

      Erm no because I never did that on my old router. Didnt think about that.

      SSL Port 563.

      Is this all I need to add to the port list?

      Yer i guess the extra 5 for unlimited is worth it

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Just got connected to Sky MAX.

      No, no, you don't need to open any ports for Usenet/Newsgroups access.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Just got connected to Sky MAX.

      Oops. Ignore my advice then, I thought you did have to. Sorry.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      stewart1988's Avatar
      stewart1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got connected to Sky MAX.

      LOL no worries.

      Been resetting the router afew times to see if my line alwys connects at the same and so far the lowest has been around 5000kbps and the average being around 7000kbps.

      Can it take time for the line to fully sync or should we contact Sky and see if anything can be done? Or is this normal?

      EDIT: Had my newsgroups download for about an hour now and the speeds have been increasing im now getting a max of about 750kb/s and average of about 650kb/s. Which im guessing is max for what im connected at.

      I will try testing in the master socket tomorrow to see if anything changes.
      The box it is plugged into now is really old and battered and upside down for some reason.
      Last edited by stewart1988; 06-02-08 at 03:49 AM.

    8. #7
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got connected to Sky MAX.

      Downstream:
      Connection Speed 7424 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45 db
      Noise Margin 2 db

      with a noise margin like that im suprised your still connected have you tried your test socket m8 ??
      Please take a moment and upgrade your bit torrent client to the latest version.
      Help traffic shaped users by enabling protocol encryption in Az or T


    9. #8
      stewart1988's Avatar
      stewart1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got connected to Sky MAX.

      Its always changing right now it is changing from 2 to 7 db. (7 is the highest ive seen it)

      Gonna have to try the test socket which after looking I think is just outside the front door in the porch. So need to get some power out there and try it out.


      Been using newsgroups this morning and now im getting 800kb/sec. Average of 756kb/s.
      Last edited by stewart1988; 06-02-08 at 11:58 AM.

    10. #9
      stewart1988's Avatar
      stewart1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got connected to Sky MAX.

      Sorry for double post
      Gonna try the master socket in a min but I just went to the admin page and saw something weird...

      The Noise Margin goes from 0 to 2 db and now every 20 second or so its show 2000000000 db+

      EDIT: Tried the master socket and it wouldnt connect? Just said disconnect. Plugged into the socket under the box right? You have to unscrew it and on the right is a phone socket.
      I then screwed it back on and tried in that socket nand I get the same settings as before.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Just got connected to Sky MAX.-ermm.jpg  
      Last edited by stewart1988; 06-02-08 at 08:43 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION