Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
    Results 41 to 47 of 47

    Install This Week

    This is a discussion on Install This Week within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi just to let you knwo i am finally using my sky box after i had to call them up ...

    1. #41
      nimitron's Avatar
      nimitron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi just to let you knwo i am finally using my sky box after i had to call them up and get put through to tier 3 after a 40 min wait which seems quite short from what i've read.

      Im gettting 4/5mb as he had to put me on asdl to stablise my line since he said my noise margin was too low. he said i had a stalled session which he said was rare.
      These are my stats
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1523 1490 0 945 3124 00:05:16
      LAN 10M/100M 2698 2554 0 1846 552 00:14:35
      WLAN 11M/54M 158 0 0 56 0 00:14:25


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4608 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 14.0 db
      Noise Margin 25.4 db 13.0 db

      Is this ok!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      nimitron's Avatar
      nimitron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just wondering if these results are normal or should i gie them a ring in a few weeks to see if it would improve

    4. #43
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Your noise margin is higher than it should be. With 15.5db you should be syncing at around 15mb. You should phone Sky and ask them to uncap/lower your noise margin.

    5. #44
      nimitron's Avatar
      nimitron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for that reply i'll call them up tommorow and let them know that i am being capped and to uncapp me thanks

    6. #45
      nimitron's Avatar
      nimitron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi just to update you guys on my progress didn't want to start a new thread! i'm still stuck on 4 mb i got a call back on sunday saying he was going to place an enquiry (first time id had a call back)! he said he was going to check up with the people at ireland i think that is easynet.well i thought you guys capped my speed why can't you uncapp it! Well i called them back to check whats going on today and they said that they said my account was not active and they need to make it active to get a bt service number. he rang the order staus place and got it did a line check and he said yup 4mb m8 and i should get a call back in a few days he said.

      I just want to know is this the correct method in which my speed should be upgraded/uncapped

    7. #46
      nimitron's Avatar
      nimitron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just got of the phone to sky and now the tier 3 person said theyve capped me to 12mb i checked this is what i got!
      System Up Time 02:11:13
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7731 6492 0 1000 422 01:14:12
      LAN 10M/100M 16366 19370 0 750 286 02:11:11
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 9785 9910 0 437 630 02:11:01


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11998 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 17.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 13.9 db


      Looks ok to me i think??

    8. #47
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      looks good to me as well




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION