Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Recently moved to Sky

    This is a discussion on Recently moved to Sky within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have been on Sky Max BB for about 2 weeks now. I have a wired connection to the new ...

    1. #1
      BillBee's Avatar
      BillBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenilworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Recently moved to Sky

      I have been on Sky Max BB for about 2 weeks now. I have a wired connection to the new Sagem router and I have disabled UPnP. I am also using OpenDNS. From the stats I can't tell whether I'm on G.DMT or ADSL2. I would be grateful if someone could have a look at my stats and see if the speed I'm getting is about right. Many thanks.


      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 7:46:20
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 24112 22151 0 0 0 1:11:20
      LAN 70166 75517 0 0 0 7:46:20
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:00:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2976 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 29.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 14.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Recently moved to Sky

      Hi BillBee.
      As you sync below 8meg then you will be on G.DMT. Your upload speed indicates you are on Max.
      Your sync speed is low How are you connected to your phone line?

    4. #3
      BillBee's Avatar
      BillBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenilworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recently moved to Sky

      I am in the same room as the master socket and I am plugged into that with a microfilter.

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Recently moved to Sky

      If you have a master socket that contains a test socket as well Have you tried connecting to that?

    6. #5
      BillBee's Avatar
      BillBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenilworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recently moved to Sky

      I have just plugged into the test socket and the stats are:-



      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 0:03:09
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 49 44 0 0 0 0:00:54
      LAN 594 622 0 0 0 0:03:09
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:00:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4864 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 28.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 13.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Recently moved to Sky

      You have gained 2Mb by swapping sockets.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      BillBee's Avatar
      BillBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenilworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recently moved to Sky

      Just gone back into normal socket and speed dropped to 3264 kbps.

      I know I'm not going to get speeds anywhere near the max but is there anything else I could do to up the speed a little?

      Many thanks for replies so far.

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Recently moved to Sky

      Yes there is. As you are pluged in to the master socket, Get a filter faceplate from ADSL Nation, XTE-2005, this will give you as good a connection as the test socket, but with any extensions you have still connected.

    10. #9
      BillBee's Avatar
      BillBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenilworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recently moved to Sky

      Thanks a lot, Brian. I will definitely get a faceplate.

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Recently moved to Sky

      Very easy to do Bill and it definitely works




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION