Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 150

    Used another router sky cut me off :/

    This is a discussion on Used another router sky cut me off :/ within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I flashed my sagem router and started using a linksys, and then went back to the sagem because i soar ...

    1. #1
      click07's Avatar
      click07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Used another router sky cut me off :/

      I flashed my sagem router and started using a linksys, and then went back to the sagem because i soar no benefits from using the none sky router. A couple of days later my net stopped working i gave sky a call and they said i had broken the agreement by using another router I'm posting from a m8's house now, anyone got any idea's of how i can get my net back .


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      lawsangel's Avatar
      lawsangel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      plug your sky router back in and call them back

      Also explain why you had to use another router, IE the ones they supply never work.
      And if they want to pull out there terms and condition bull**** why dont you tell them that they are supplying people with faulty hardware/firmware, this can be proven pretty easly just by looking on this forum alone.
      Last edited by lawsangel; 05-02-08 at 03:59 PM.

    4. #3
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      Ring up sky and be honest with what you have done. If they agree to reconnect, you are bound to be charged for a new router, and will no doubt have to wait for it to arrive.
      If you get snotty with them they may say they are no longer prepared to accept you as a customer. So be nice.

    5. #4
      audioslim's Avatar
      audioslim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Failsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      If I were you , I'ld take that as the ultimate kick in the teeth and cancel the whole damn Sky package I'm on and go elsewhere (of course then signing back up for Sky TV under the Missus name and get a new box!).

      Slim

    6. #5
      djkemp1's Avatar
      djkemp1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      is this the first person this has happened too? i have seen a lot of people including myself that have stopped using the sky router and used their own. what will happen if we carry on using our own routers?

      the reason i had to change was a poor wireless signal and the computers around the house got a very slow wireless d/l speed so had to change

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      This is a bit worrying for those who are using non-Sky routers, especially if the have sold the Sky one on ebay. I think this may be the first case of this happening.

      At the same time it is difficult to see how they could say that when you were actually using the Sky router. Maybe to do with the firmware you were using?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think this may be the first case of this happening.
      I haven't seen or heard it happening to anybody else but I guess it was only going to be a matter of time before Sky did start cracking down.

    9. #8
      click07's Avatar
      click07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      Im off home soon gonna give sky a call see if i can sweet talk em

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      You will keep us posted?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      I guess Sky are comparing the MAC address of the router they supplied with the MAC address of the Router in use. So it looks as if you will need not only the utility to read the User Name and Password but also a Utility to change the MAC address to the one of the original Sky router. Now changing MAC's isn't difficult, I have a program called MAC Maker that does this. It might be worth trying! Has any one done this?

     

     
    Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION