Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 15 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 150

    Used another router sky cut me off :/

    This is a discussion on Used another router sky cut me off :/ within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by NewsreadeR For some reason, it seems to be Linux Distros only LOL I've noticed that's the excuse ...

    1. #51
      balloon's Avatar
      balloon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      For some reason, it seems to be Linux Distros only
      LOL I've noticed that's the excuse they tend to use...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      Quote Originally Posted by djkemp1 View Post
      its quite easy to do now, especially with the sites that offer streaming tv quality video such as SKY and BBC, these services use quite a lot of GB's if using them regualrly and it will only increase when other tv stations etc offer the same video on demand services
      And don't forget when using p2p services for every gig you download you are uploading just as much if not more so a 3-4 gig film can be as much as 10 gig of your bandwidth used.

      I remembered when I had a world of warcraft patch to get and it was only 650meg, I had to download over 800meg to get all the patch and I uploaded over 3gig to other people, p2p are huge bandwidth hogs.

    4. #53
      DJ_Steve's Avatar
      DJ_Steve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sunderland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      linux distros is quite plausible for igh bandwidth use since a full download of say debian is about 8gb (nearly 2 full dvds) and theirs a few other distros similar to that

    5. #54
      audioslim's Avatar
      audioslim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Failsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      They dont have a leg to stand on if they cut people off ffor exceeding useage without warning as Sky offer no tools what so ever to monitor useage and it is simply impossible to do yourself, especially with the locked down Sky router.

      But it does still stand that their T&C's are too generalised to hold up well when challenged I reckon.

      Slim

    6. #55
      Redman's Avatar
      Redman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      Quote Originally Posted by audioslim View Post
      They dont have a leg to stand on if they cut people off ffor exceeding useage without warning as Sky offer no tools what so ever to monitor useage and it is simply impossible to do yourself, especially with the locked down Sky router.

      But it does still stand that their T&C's are too generalised to hold up well when challenged I reckon.

      Slim
      Bandwidth Monitor Pro is what I use to monitor my useage. It shows your current speeds as well.



      Redman

    7. #56
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      Bandwidth Monitor Pro is what I use to monitor my useage.
      ....and if you have an Xbox, a PS3 and three PCs, how does it cope then? Also is it only measuring Internet traffic or internal LAN as well?

      The point was that Sky do not supply any way of measuring your actual internet usage, so they will be hard put to penalize you for exceeding your limit.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #57
      Netgeezer's Avatar
      Netgeezer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      355
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The point was that Sky do not supply any way of measuring your actual internet usage, so they will be hard put to penalize you for exceeding your limit.
      They do not have to supply their customers with any such tool. It is up to the user to control their usage however they see fit. If you do go over to the degree that Sky actually notice you then clearly your existing package is insufficient for your needs and it is time to update your subscription. At that point, surely, Sky will then have the discussion with you. Job done.

      Would people prefer Sky to perform some hard metering - such that as soon as you hit your cap they suspend your access until the beginning of your next subscription month? Or perhaps if they started billing you, without warning, for the excess usage like several other ISPs do?

      I did a check on the Charities Commission website and could not find Sky listed!
      It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer.
      [Albert Einstein]




      ADSL Nation XF-1e filter - the dogs nuts

    9. #58
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      Quote Originally Posted by Netgeezer View Post
      I did a check on the Charities Commission website and could not find Sky listed!
      are you sure they were not under the "order 1 get 3 sent" router page or the "i have a problem with my conection, done sir thats 3 in the post" section

    10. #59
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      The only thing i can say is that you get what you pay for i think the fair usage policy for sky is quite fair as it is a family service it is not for business or game servers and i am sick of telling people that.They call up and expect sky to compensate them for the money they have lost because they are not reading what they are agreeing to before they sign the contract.Which is stupid anyway i always read the small print even in a software license.

    11. #60
      Netgeezer's Avatar
      Netgeezer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      355
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Used another router sky cut me off :/

      Quote Originally Posted by jonny1310 View Post
      .....it is a family service it is not for business or game servers .....
      I wonder how they'd react if you put them through to Easynet who would be more than happy to provide a business service to these people.

      There is a well-worn statistic somewhere that says that 95% of an ISPs traffic is used by 3% of its customers. That means that we are all subsidising these hogs, and I honestly wonder why we are all content to do that!

      @richone54 - 3 routers? Damn, I'm doing something wrong ......
      It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer.
      [Albert Einstein]




      ADSL Nation XF-1e filter - the dogs nuts

     

     
    Page 6 of 15 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION