Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Trying to connect another p.c to Sky

    This is a discussion on Trying to connect another p.c to Sky within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have sky max in my living room with my p.c connected to the router (The new black one, ...

    1. #1
      lee241270's Avatar
      lee241270 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Trying to connect another p.c to Sky

      Hi,

      I have sky max in my living room with my p.c connected to the router (The new black one, don't know the model number).

      I just bought my son a new p.c who is on the ground floor and im on the first floor.

      I bought him a WG111 (vista approved) wireless adaptor but his connection is really crappy and keeps disconnecting so i took his p.c up to the 1st floor and it works a bit better with no disconnects.

      Problem being it needs to be downstairs.

      I was going to use Ethernet cable and drill through the walls but the landlord wont be to happy about that as i know i will get a much better connection that way.

      Any ideas apart from getting my son his own separate account with Sky to resolve this.

      He just wants to play world of warcraft but cant due to how slow it is

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      balloon's Avatar
      balloon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to connect another p.c to Sky

      There are some things you might want to try....
      Change the wireless channel on the router (there may be some interference from neighbours wifi etc.)
      Try repositioning the router to a more central location (you will have to experiment with this until you get a good signal)

    4. #3
      lee241270's Avatar
      lee241270 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to connect another p.c to Sky

      Tried that, still the same, thanks for the tip anyway

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Trying to connect another p.c to Sky

      How many channels did you try on the router?

    6. #5
      lee241270's Avatar
      lee241270 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to connect another p.c to Sky

      Hi,

      I tried: 1 / 6 / 8 and 11 still pretty much the same.


    7. #6
      balloon's Avatar
      balloon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to connect another p.c to Sky

      As a last resort...... you might want to look into power-line adaptors, they do cost more but are better for situations like yours.

    8. #7
      lee241270's Avatar
      lee241270 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to connect another p.c to Sky

      Thanks for your help, just checked it out and it does look like that is the way forward for me.

    9. #8
      balloon's Avatar
      balloon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to connect another p.c to Sky

      No probs, hope you find a good deal! Here is a good review Solwise HomePlug Ethernet PL-85PE - TrustedReviews

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION