Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 45

    how do i know if i am on G.DMT or not ?

    This is a discussion on how do i know if i am on G.DMT or not ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi, i have been reading lots of threads/messages about being either on G.DMT or adsl +2..for faster speeds..i have no ...

    1. #1
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      how do i know if i am on G.DMT or not ?

      hi, i have been reading lots of threads/messages about being either on G.DMT or adsl+2..for faster speeds..i have no idea how to post router stats ( but will research & find out if needed) in basic terms using various speed checkers at different times of the day..i usually get approx 8600 d/l & 625 u/l..i live approx 817 mtrs ( as crow flies from exchange) & 966 mtrs by road, i am on broadband max..is it possible to give me an idea if this is good or bad or what ? obviously i would love to have as fast a speed as possible..so how would i find out if i am on G.DMT or ADSL+2 & would it make any difference , many thanks in advance for any advice


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: how do i know if i am on G.DMT or not ?

      Log in to your router at 192.168.0.1 with the Username admin and Password sky. Click the "Show statistics" button on the "Router Status" page, right click, Select All, Copy, then paste the results into a post here.

      Someone can then have a look!

    4. #3
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how do i know if i am on G.DMT or not ?

      hi this is what iy says .....

      Firmware Version 1.5Sky

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address
      IP Address Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 87.87.249.124
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97 87.86.189.16

      LAN Port
      MAC Address
      IP Address
      DHCP enable
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023c.d20e
      Modem Status Up
      DownStream Connection Speed 10270
      UpStream Connection Speed 764
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY31722
      Region Europe
      Current Channel 6
      Wireless AP enable
      Broadcast Name SKY31722
      Last edited by worcesterman47; 03-02-08 at 07:28 PM.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: how do i know if i am on G.DMT or not ?

      DownStream Connection Speed 10270
      This indicates that you are on ADSL2+. You may have to do some work on your internal wiring to improve this. Have a look in Cabling and faceplate help - Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! for advice on how to improve your wiring

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: how do i know if i am on G.DMT or not ?

      Quote Originally Posted by worcesterman47 View Post
      hi this is what iy says .....

      Firmware Version 1.5Sky
      This is the Router Status page which contains your IP and MAC addresses. It would be a good idea to edit these out of your post.

      There is a button at the bottom of this page labelled "Show Statistics" which is the one I meant for you to post. It gives more information about your line and connection data.

    7. #6
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how do i know if i am on G.DMT or not ?

      thank you have edited previous post...here are the statistics i think you meant me to post before ( sorry) there is a difference.. as we have an alarm fitted to one extension socket for my disabled mother in law ( i have now fitted a filter to that one )..so once again..looking at my latest router statistics..are these good bad or what..remembering i am on sky max..many thanks again in advance

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 5:49:54

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 9987 15518 0 0 0 0:05:51
      LAN 262677 171550 0 0 0 5:49:54
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 5:49:32
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12288 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25.5 db 11.8 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 16.0 db

      Poll Interval: (secs)











      p.s since i fitted a filter to socket with the alarm connected..i have retested various speeds & found a gain of almost 2 mbs
      Last edited by worcesterman47; 03-02-08 at 07:29 PM.

    8. #7
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: how do i know if i am on G.DMT or not ?

      Yes, you're definiteley on ADSL2+ and as you say, now getting better speeds with that extra filter fitted.

      Your 25 db line could easily support 16 mbps but your noise margin is limiting at currently to about 12.25 mbps. this means that your line is noisy.

      Most likely the fault will be with your internal wiring, particularly if you have a lot of extensions. Try the router in the test socket behind the faceplate of your master socket if you have an NTE5 and see if the speed improves.

    9. #8
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how do i know if i am on G.DMT or not ?

      hi again..many thanks for all the info..in regard to trying "test" socket..there are none that i can see( i took all covers off all sockets to have a look)... as for my wiring set up it is as follows... adsl extension cable from living room socket ( approx 10mtrs) into router...i also have en extension socket at top of stairs ( with filter) & also alarm into phone socket in kitchen ( with filter) i also have sky phone cable into digi box ( with NO filter fitted) would that make a difference possibly ? if it does/could make a difference which end would i put filter ..at connection nearest the digi box..or the other end ?..many thanks again in advance for any ideas or info.

      ps..my house is approx 40 yrs old if that makes a difference to any kind of wiring set up

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: how do i know if i am on G.DMT or not ?

      Your mention of an alarm rung a bell have a look at this and see if it effects you. Basically, if your alarm was installed before 2003, it could be the root of your problem.
      Clarity - ADSL and Monitored Alarms

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how do i know if i am on G.DMT or not ?

      hi. no..its only been in for around 18 months..its just a plug in one to the extension box

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION