Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 31

    loss of sync on incoming call

    This is a discussion on loss of sync on incoming call within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Another thought here is that you can use Mognuts utility to increase the target noise margin on the Sky V1 ...

    1. #11
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: loss of sync on incoming call

      Another thought here is that you can use Mognuts utility to increase the target noise margin on the Sky V1 Router. This will improve the stability but reduce the connection speed slightly. Exactly the same would happen if Sky decided the easiest solution was to cap the line, but then you would not have control.

      Do your other routers have the facility to up the target noise margin?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      nobby's Avatar
      nobby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Batley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: loss of sync on incoming call

      Quote Originally Posted by eyemdee View Post

      Do your other routers have the facility to up the target noise margin?
      not that i know of one is a speedtouch 510v4 an the other a new Dlink 2640B. Had a reply from Sky and they are escalating it to Customer Service what ever that means.

      Ive had sky BB for 14months with no real problems, if I needed capping wouldnt I have known by now? my line shows as only being capable of 256 on the line checkers but was fine with Pipex 1mb...

    4. #13
      nobby's Avatar
      nobby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Batley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: loss of sync on incoming call

      have i just been capped ?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 256 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4800 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.8 14.0
      Attn(dB): 51.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.3 0.6
      Max(Kbps): 5504 1120
      Rate (Kbps): 4800 256
      G.dmt framing
      K: 151(0) 9
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 151 9
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1052 17.6000
      L: 1216 80
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 6938 6936
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 471840 29478
      RSCorr: 57 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1336580 0
      Data Cells: 99 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 2 min 25 sec
      SF = 6938
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 2 min 25 sec
      SF = 6938
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 25 sec
      SF = 6938
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    5. #14
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: loss of sync on incoming call

      ^^^ Looks like the upstream might have been slightly capped. Both the downstream speed and noise margin have improved slightly.

      Might be worth doing the incoming call noise margin test again and see if that has done any good. How long have you had this particular problem with incoming calls causing disconnections?

    6. #15
      nobby's Avatar
      nobby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Batley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: loss of sync on incoming call

      i only saw 0.3 /0.4 drop with the test, just tried the dlink and its lost sync, it seemed longer to do it..

      whats likely to happen if i call them, a further cap?

      the disconnections have only started in the last few days
      Last edited by nobby; 03-02-08 at 07:52 PM.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: loss of sync on incoming call

      I don't think you are capped at the moment, not on your downstream anyway. If you call them you probably will be. Try using the Mognuts utility to increase your noise margin yourself. It is not a permanent change and can be changed back easily, unlike if Sky cap you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: loss of sync on incoming call

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I don't think you are capped at the moment, not on your downstream anyway. If you call them you probably will be. Try using the Mognuts utility to increase your noise margin yourself. It is not a permanent change and can be changed back easily, unlike if Sky cap you.
      Is it not worth ringing BT with a noisy line fault. I had a similar fault a while back turned out to be a poor connection in one of the cabinets, when the voltage dropped or increased (cannot remember which) I would loose connection.

      Explained to the BT engineer about noise and also the internet connection when he arrived (had a coffee and a bacon butty ready for him), he looked into it, found the fault and everything has been fine since.

      He did say that it was a bit of a pig to trace due to the intermittent nature and he had seen something similar before which helped, Most common is a poor connection in the juction box on the pole.

      Hope this helps

    9. #18
      nobby's Avatar
      nobby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Batley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: loss of sync on incoming call

      they had capped me at 4800 down and 256 up, they have lifted my up to 480 now, they have refused to put the line back as it was due to errors on the line...will see how it goes.

    10. #19
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: loss of sync on incoming call

      it shouldnt be 480 as your on Mid - someone doesnt know procedures...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #20
      nobby's Avatar
      nobby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Batley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: loss of sync on incoming call

      i realise that... i never got more than 4.8 stable down so will see what happens. new stats below

      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 480 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4800 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 51.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 3.2
      Max(Kbps): 6048 1120
      Rate (Kbps): 4800 480
      G.dmt framing
      K: 151(0) 16
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 151 9
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1052 17.6000
      L: 1216 80
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 22700 22698
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 1543622 192933
      RSCorr: 269 46
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 4375795 0
      Data Cells: 21789 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 3 0
      SES: 3 0
      UAS: 51 0
      Total time = 24 min 29 sec
      SF = 82157
      CRC = 118
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Latest 1 day time = 24 min 29 sec
      SF = 82157
      CRC = 118
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 29 sec
      SF = 31404
      CRC = 118
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 50753
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION