Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    More connection problems

    This is a discussion on More connection problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have an ongoing problem when my connection seems to 'hang'. When I log onto the the router to view ...

    1. #1
      bottylad's Avatar
      bottylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middlewich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      More connection problems

      I have an ongoing problem when my connection seems to 'hang'. When I log onto the the router to view the stats the connection appears to be up but the ADSL port doesn't have any IP settings (therefore I can't browse a damn thing!). I have my router in the test socket of my BT master and use a wired and wireless connection but the problem keeps recurring. The status page is shown below, has anyone got any ideas?

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address ----
      IP Address ----
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask ----
      Gateway IP Address ----
      Domain Name Server ----


      LAN Port
      MAC Address
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 10866 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 760 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38
      BottyLad



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: More connection problems

      The modem has synchronised with the equipment at the exchange, but for some reason the Internet connection has not been set up. That part of the process can be a little slow sometimes, but should happened after 30 seconds or so. I take it that it does work most of the time, right?

    4. #3
      bottylad's Avatar
      bottylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middlewich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: More connection problems

      Thanks James,

      If I reboot the router everything sync's fine at around 12mb and my connection is fine. Then after a few hours (sometimes around 6hrs, other times 24hrs) I cannot surf. Upon checking the stats they are usually as per my previous post (loss of DNS settings etc). I can leave this for hours and the settings are never re-acquired.

      Usually only a reboot will rectify the problem. At fisrt I was assuming problems on the line but as you say, the connection remains sync'd - it's the IP settings which are lost.

      Any thoughts?
      BottyLad


    5. #4
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: More connection problems

      Quote Originally Posted by bottylad View Post
      Thanks James,

      If I reboot the router everything sync's fine at around 12mb and my connection is fine. Then after a few hours (sometimes around 6hrs, other times 24hrs) I cannot surf. Upon checking the stats they are usually as per my previous post (loss of DNS settings etc). I can leave this for hours and the settings are never re-acquired.

      Usually only a reboot will rectify the problem. At fisrt I was assuming problems on the line but as you say, the connection remains sync'd - it's the IP settings which are lost.

      Any thoughts?
      This is exactly the problem that I had last year when my Sky broadband was first installed. Sky initially capped the line from ~13 mbps down to 8.5 which worked after a fashion but then it started again.

      Eventually I removed a disused telephone extension after first disconnecting the ring wire, rewired the others and then got Sky to re-cap at 12.5 mbps since when it has been perfect.

      Can you post your router stats so we can try and see what is happening?

    6. #5
      bottylad's Avatar
      bottylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middlewich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: More connection problems

      Well I'm glad it's not just me!! I've posted my stats below. I have the router in my master test socket so there shouldn't be any issue with the rest of the house wiring.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15618 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.6 12.0
      Attn(dB): 31.5 18.7
      Pwr(dBm): 947.2 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 15700 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15618 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 111(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 128 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 65 68
      B: 110 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 4 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.2269 7.7037
      L: 4266 216
      D: 128 8
      Counters
      SF: 1067648 1067646
      SFErr: 2184 1
      RS: 303212158 9074991
      RSCorr: 76781304 0
      RSUnCorr: 441686 0

      HEC: 1003 0
      OCD: 861 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 632709407 30986941
      Data Cells: 94158 35769
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 492 1
      SES: 33 0
      UAS: 14 17
      Total time = 4 hours 47 min 0 sec
      SF = 1067648
      CRC = 2184
      LOS = 1583
      LOF = 0
      ES = 492
      Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 47 min 0 sec
      SF = 1067648
      CRC = 2184
      LOS = 1583
      LOF = 0
      ES = 492
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 0 sec
      SF = 7447
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55914
      CRC = 41
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 30
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55853
      CRC = 22
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 18
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55852
      CRC = 27
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 22
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55853
      CRC = 41
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 35
      BottyLad


    7. #6
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: More connection problems

      Quote Originally Posted by bottylad View Post
      SNR (dB): 6.6

      Total time = 4 hours 47 min 0 sec
      SF = 1067648
      CRC = 2184 This is a high error rate
      LOS = 1583 LOF = 0
      ES = 492
      The noise margin is on the low side for stability and the errors and disconnections prove that.

      If your wiring is definitely OK, I would try using Mognuts to increase the target noise margin. Try 133 units or even 9 db. This will slow down the connection speed but should improve the stability. Run like that for 24 hours and post again.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: More connection problems

      You should also try rebooting late in the evening when the lines are at their noisiest. See if you connection is then maintained during the day. This will also drop your sync speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      bottylad's Avatar
      bottylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middlewich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: More connection problems

      I have tried rebooting in the evenings but it still loses connection by the next day. Using Mognuts I've set the Noise Margin to 192 units- again this is ok for a few hours but will eventually hang with the same problem.

      I'll set the SNR to 192 units tonight and post stats again in the morning (assuming the connection is still up!)
      Last edited by bottylad; 06-02-08 at 11:37 PM.
      BottyLad


    10. #9
      bottylad's Avatar
      bottylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middlewich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: More connection problems

      Ok, I set my SNR to 192 units last night - here are my new stats this morning. Does this shead any light on my connection problems?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 11528 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 13.5 12.5
      Attn(dB): 31.5 18.7
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 11652 864
      Rate (Kbps): 11528 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 243(0) 24
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 90 68
      B: 242 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 0.6717 7.7037
      L: 3037 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 2733178 2733176
      SFErr: 3152 2
      RS: 262385172 23231996
      RSCorr: 250847609 16
      RSUnCorr: 85895 0

      HEC: 2298 1
      OCD: 87 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1197769904 79392671
      Data Cells: 158095 71520
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 567 2
      SES: 165 0
      UAS: 30 16
      Total time = 1 days 11 hours 49 min 43 sec
      SF = 8016552
      CRC = 7992
      LOS = 3788
      LOF = 0
      ES = 567
      Latest 1 day time = 11 hours 49 min 43 sec
      SF = 2641393
      CRC = 3151
      LOS = 47
      LOF = 0
      ES = 384
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 43 sec
      SF = 17551
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55816
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5375159
      CRC = 4841
      LOS = 3741
      LOF = 0
      ES = 183
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55815
      CRC = 7
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55816
      CRC = 7
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55878
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      BottyLad


    11. #10
      bottylad's Avatar
      bottylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middlewich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: More connection problems

      I've just lost my connection (or so it seemed). Unable to browse to any sites. Checked the stats on the router and connection still appears up (see below). I tried to ping various places and got the occassional ping back but mostly dropped packets.

      Can anyone shed any light on this?



      Firmware Version V1.02.28

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address
      IP Address 90.207.201.68
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 87.87.251.119
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      87.86.189.16

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:1B:2F:43:7F:08
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 11528 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 764 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 24 11 0 70 16 00:00:28
      LAN 10M/100M 1546 112 0 3 0 37:35:45
      WLAN 54M 69560 251717 0 151 85 37:35:35


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11528 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.5 db 18.7 db
      Noise Margin 14.1 db 12.5 db
      BottyLad


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION