Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Sky Plus Ruined Router

    This is a discussion on Sky Plus Ruined Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; After the sky plus was installed into the phone box, my router went downhill. Sky upgraded me to the new ...

    1. #1
      Russell75's Avatar
      Russell75 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Sky Plus Ruined Router

      After the sky plus was installed into the phone box, my router went downhill. Sky upgraded me to the new sagem f@st router but that is no better. Had anyone else had this problem and could you fix it?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Plus Ruined Router

      ^^^ You have got the Sky+ box plugged into an ADSL filter?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Plus Ruined Router

      Also I hope you are not using the crappy telephone extension Sky fitters supply.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Plus Ruined Router

      the engineer probably but the sky+ splitter in first then the filter. Make sure its >>>FILTER>SKY+ SPLITTER>>PHONE
      ROUTER

    6. #5
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Plus Ruined Router

      This is my first day on Sky BB. What a pleasure to have dumped the IP Profile. Anyway to answer this
      (1) Use a faceplate filter and put the router as close as possible to it.
      (2) Connect up to your Sky receiver using a second filter.

      This double filter reduced my errors when on BT and the nice man at sky said my errors were very low for a full wack Max connection.
      The idea of putting the router close to the master is to get it away from the rest of your computer kit (a very good thing) and to get the sig into it as soon as you can.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Plus Ruined Router

      The idea of putting the router close to the master is to get it away from the rest of your computer kit
      That's a new one I always thought it was to cut out interference caused by extensions. My router sits behind my monitor about 2 feet from my base unit, with no obvious problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Plus Ruined Router

      Hi Isitme.
      All routers are prone to interferance from other kit, so putting it as far from the computer as possible is a good thing. Getting the sig in to the router as soon as it enters your home is also a good idea for the reasons you give.

    9. #8
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky Plus Ruined Router

      I'd have thought the thing most susceptible to interference of this kind would be the cable between the router and the phone socket, because these tend not to be twisted pair. Mind you, I reckon the worse part of my connection is the donkey's-years-old "figure of eight" cable between the telegraph pole and my house.

    10. #9
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Plus Ruined Router

      Hi James67.
      The drop you describe is made of copper plated steel wire, it has to be steel to support it's own weight, external drop twisted pair has a support wire built in. The main prob with this is damp, it causes the copper to oxidise and the steel to rust. If this happens the noise on a voice call is very high and BB is out the window!.
      It is more prone to interferance than twisted pair. So if your phone is noise, get Openreach in.

    11. #10
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky Plus Ruined Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      So if your phone is noise, get Openreach in.
      There's no noise on the phone, so I'm sure Openreach wouldn't be interested in replacing it.

      I'm a bleedin' fool, I am. A few years ago, I started getting a lot of crackling on my phone and I called BT in. The engineer tested it and said I needed a new cable between the telegraph pole and the house. My house used to be a shop and I knew that there were two lines coming into the house, one of which was unused, and I stupidly suggested, "maybe you could swap over to the other cable." He did that and it fixed the problem, but I missed out on the chance to get a new cable put in.

      But then again, he probably would have spotted the second cable anyway.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION