Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    Speed Drop

    This is a discussion on Speed Drop within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It certainly is, i get no crackling on the phone line at all, it clear as a bell, ill go ...

    1. #11
      Krar's Avatar
      Krar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norwich City
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Norwich
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Drop

      It certainly is, i get no crackling on the phone line at all, it clear as a bell, ill go try the master socket with the face plate off, brb !


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Krar's Avatar
      Krar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norwich City
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Norwich
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Drop

      ok, have unplugged and left router for a minute (is that enough to reboot?), also took the front panel off the master socket and am plugged in there via a microfilter.

      These numbers look better right ?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2240 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: OFF
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.2 15.0
      Attn(dB): 60.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.0 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 2496 832
      Rate (Kbps): 2240 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 71(0) 15
      R: 12 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 8 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 71 15
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 2.1666 9.0000
      L: 576 128
      D: 8 2
      Counters
      SF: 8997 8995
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 305928 76457
      RSCorr: 1 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 807312 0
      Data Cells: 25542 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 0
      Total time = 2 min 54 sec
      SF = 8997
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 2 min 54 sec
      SF = 8997
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 54 sec
      SF = 8997
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    4. #13
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Speed Drop

      previous stats
      SNR (dB): 8.6 15.0
      Attn(dB): 61.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 13.9 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 576 824
      Rate (Kbps): 480 448
      New stats from test socket
      SNR (dB): 8.2 15.0
      Attn(dB): 60.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.0 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 2496 832
      Rate (Kbps): 2240 448
      the last stats above are much better, this shows your home wiring is your problem, have a look at the cabling and faceplate forum for tips on hoe to improve(or just leave pluged into the test socket, its what i do)

    5. #14
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed Drop

      Quote Originally Posted by Krar View Post
      These numbers look better right ?
      Not half! Although its only a short time connected your speed has nearly quadrupled!

      You have a mega problem with your extension wiring. If you are not using it, or it doesn't work, then disconnect and remove it. See the cabling and faceplate forum for help with internal wiring.

      EDIT: Slow fingers again

    6. #15
      Krar's Avatar
      Krar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norwich City
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Norwich
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Drop

      Thanks guys,

      Is it worth talking to anyone at sky about the previously mentioned Cap then ? or is that not likely to achieve anything.

      Im only hitting 347kbps up and down at speedtest.net

    7. #16
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed Drop

      ^^^ If you are capped at all then it is only slightly as you are now syncing at 2.25 mbps. I would leave it connected like that for 24 hours or so, and try some other speed testing sites. Then post the stats again.

    8. #17
      Krar's Avatar
      Krar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norwich City
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Norwich
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Drop

      ok, will do.

      Thanks very much for all the help

    9. #18
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Speed Drop

      not 100% sure about phoning sky, as you are on connect, they may ask you to wait 3 days anyway (some one can hopefully confirm)

    10. #19
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed Drop

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      not 100% sure about phoning sky, as you are on connect, they may ask you to wait 3 days anyway (some one can hopefully confirm)
      Yes, spot on. I didn't notice you were on Connect. I believe it takes 3 days of improved sync speed before your throughput improves so I would leave it wired as you are and wait for the better speed tests!

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed Drop

      If you are on Connect then you will not be capped, not manually anyway. Your line will be retraining (after removing the extension) which can take up to 3 days. Have a read through This article from Plusnet, who operate the same service as you are on.

      This is another example of the compete disregard Sky have for Connect customers. They do not even seem to realize that it uses completely different technology and requires special attention, especially in the first 10 days of connection. All Connect customers should be made aware of this before their line is activated.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION