Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    Disconnects please help

    This is a discussion on Disconnects please help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hanksey this post may be of interest if its just the ps3 thats dropping http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/gamin...y-bb-cod4.html it suggests that the problem ...

    1. #11
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Disconnects please help

      hanksey this post may be of interest if its just the ps3 thats dropping
      Xbox live sky bb and cod4
      it suggests that the problem may lie with the xbox, ps3 servers
      Last edited by dholdi; 29-01-08 at 10:58 PM.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      hanksey's Avatar
      hanksey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnects please help

      no mate it's not just the ps3 it's everything the router drops cause i get the amber light on the router,

    4. #13
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Disconnects please help

      Do you mind taking the speed test again but using an Ethernet cable plugged into the computer. Just to get the actual speed.

    5. #14
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Disconnects please help

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      Do you mind taking the speed test again
      Again? Can't see one and not quite sure what tack you're taking there and what it might have to do with disconnects


      @hanksey

      looks like you're using the V2 Netgear. As richone54 says, the V2s are much more tolerant of low noise margins than the V1 with current firmware but if the noise margin is dropping to near zero (as it appears to from the stats) then that's almost certainly at least part of the problem if not the problem.

      When the router is booted it negotiates the best speed it can for a noise margin of 6.9db. If yours is dropping to zero then that's a huge swing (especially for the new routers) and is indicative of a line problem. This is backed up by your stats. Your attenuation is 46db but you're only connecting at ~4000kbps and you should be seeing near double that. That means your line is noisy.

      So there are a number of related problems: your line is noisy so your router is syncing at a low speed; your line is noisy so your noise margin swing is very large; your noise margin is dropping to a point where the router disconnects.

      What you need to do is get rid of that noise. The cabling and faceplate help forum has lots of useful advice. If you fix it you'll just about double your ssync speed and have a much more stable connection.

      In the meantime, again as suggested by richone54, you need to reboot your router as soon as the noise margin drops to ~5db. Keep doing that until it stops dropping. If you now leave the router powered up then it will hold a high noise margin and you should find you get no or fewer disconnects.

    6. #15
      hanksey's Avatar
      hanksey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnects please help

      cheers m8 will try that tonite and let you know.

    7. #16
      hanksey's Avatar
      hanksey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnects please help

      just done a test direct into the test socket results still no better tried rebooting numerous times cannot get it above 5 then slowly drops to about 1 or 2.
      ystem Up Time: 01:05:23
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 333 241 0 1696 1291 00:00:45
      LAN 100M/Full 719 552 0 29 11 01:05:19
      WLAN 11M/54M 214844 185329 0 64885 3706 01:05:06
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3936 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46 db 13.5 db
      Noise Margin 2 db 13 db

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Disconnects please help

      If this is from the test socket, then you have serious external line problems. I would phone BT and tell them you have a lot of buzzing and click on your line. Remember this is your voice line you are complaining about, don't even mention broadband or they will do nothing for you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Disconnects please help

      Can you hear any noise on the line when making a voice call ?
      Have you tried a different filter & are those stats definetely from the test socket, not the master?
      Last edited by dholdi; 30-01-08 at 09:26 PM.


    10. #19
      hanksey's Avatar
      hanksey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnects please help

      yes they are from the test socket, but it gets even worse today i found out last nite i left it all plugged in the test socket tried phoning home allday from work no answer ? got home and the phone when it's plugged into the test socket does not ring is this normal,works fine in the master, gonna do another test on everything plugged into the test socket and one in the master get back soon with results
      and theres no noise when making a phone call,the faceplate is a adsl v1.0
      Last edited by hanksey; 31-01-08 at 02:58 PM.

    11. #20
      hanksey's Avatar
      hanksey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnects please help

      stupid phone does not work cause it's not plugged in when i take the faceplate off ignore me.
      anyway seem to be gettin better results now and seems to be settling these are from the test socket,
      System Up Time: 00:12:24
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 36442 65075 0 8237 375532 00:04:15
      LAN 100M/Full 659 0 0 130 0 00:12:20
      WLAN 11M/54M 65937 37708 0 133461 3102 00:12:07
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4928 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46 db 13.5 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 13 db

      and these are from the master
      System Up Time: 00:02:09
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      LAN 100M/Full 320 0 0 329 0 00:02:05
      WLAN 11M/54M 397 601 0 2550 517 00:01:52
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4864 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46 db 13.5 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 14 db

      so both seem pretty similar but it seems to holding the noise margin which it was'nt doing before just have to see how it goes later when it gets busy many thanks everyone get back to you if it drops again. cheers Dean

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION