Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Help Please?

    This is a discussion on Help Please? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, i am new to the forum, and i am looking for some help. i am trying to use ...

    1. #1
      ciaron_the_rascal's Avatar
      ciaron_the_rascal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 1
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help Please?

      Hi guys, i am new to the forum, and i am looking for some help.

      i am trying to use port forward for the netgear dg834gt router, i have tried to access the router settings by typing the ip address into the address bar in internet explorer, however when i attemp to log on it asks for username and password which i attempted to use "admin" and "sky" but it wont take me to the setting page? Please help?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help Please?

      first, id remove you're phone number from your profile...Sky do read this and could take action against you
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      ciaron_the_rascal's Avatar
      ciaron_the_rascal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 1
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Please?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      first, id remove you're phone number from your profile...Sky do read this and could take action against you
      im a idiot! lol

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help Please?

      lol!!

      what you've done is correct, so if it's not letting you in first thing is to make sure it's not a firewall issue or privacy issue...a hard reset of the router might also help incase the router has got itself in a muddle...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      ciaron_the_rascal's Avatar
      ciaron_the_rascal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 1
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Please?

      Never mind got it, thanks any way!
      Last edited by ciaron_the_rascal; 24-01-08 at 10:06 PM.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help Please?

      first, id remove you're phone number from your profile...Sky do read this and could take action against you
      I'm a bit by this Iam..... Why on earth would Sky 'take action'. I agree of course that phone numbers should not be displayed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help Please?

      say, you said on here and you mentioned you were using your own router - Sky could make a note and either suspend the account or terminate it for breech of T&Cs...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help Please?

      I get what you mean, but the OP is not using his own router, although it could apply to others. I don't know if you have noticed, but there is now a space in the users profile for what router you are using. Several, unwisely in my opinion, have put that they are using their own router, that could get them in trouble. I know the forum Administrators will not willing give out information, but with freedom of information acts and such like, they may be forced to.

      I mean no offence to the forum Admin, but maybe they should rethink the choices for what router you use and include only those issued by Sky. Those using their own router could put the one Sky issued them and keep their own preference between their self and their conscience. Providing a space for 'non Sky router' may be construed as condoning the practise.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Help Please?

      Freedom of Information applies to government and local authority data. It doesn't give a company like Sky the right to demand a forum like this to provide personal information. In fact, it would probably be an offence under the Data Protection Act and in breach of the privacy requirements of the Human Rights Act (the one that so many people, inexplicably, want to get rid of).

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION