Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 38

    Port Throttling

    This is a discussion on Port Throttling within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ive been on 16mb MAX package for almost a year now and everything has been good, until recently. I use ...

    1. #1
      mbezik's Avatar
      mbezik is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Port Throttling

      Ive been on 16mb MAX package for almost a year now and everything has been good, until recently. I use newsleecher and newshosting as a news provider and all of sudden my speed dropped from 1250kbs to 20k and stayed fairly hard capped at 20k, first thing i did was change the port in newsleecher and wey hey! the speed went back to normal. ever since this happened i seem to be playing a game of cat and mouse with sky as almost every day the port im using from the day before is capped off at 20k and i need to use another port, i have been trapped in this cycle ever since......has anyone else been having this problem? i live in fear that one day i get up and none of my available ports will work


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      There has never been a confirmed case of overt and heavy traffic management/port throttling on Sky LLU (Sky of course manage their network traffic but it is very light in its effects).

      Every time port throttling etc has been raised it has turned out to be a P2P client issue, newsreader client issue, wireless problem etc.

      You may be the first case but I doubt it.

    4. #3
      mbezik's Avatar
      mbezik is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      yeah i thought when it first happened it may of been a problem with newsleecher so i tried 2 other news programs, both were still affected by the port throttling, I know 3 people who use newshosting as their server and none of them are having these problems, so that kinda rules out server problems. Ive also tried 2 other routers which have all been hard wired as i dont use wireless same problems with these aswell - i cant help but think its something at their end because as soon as i find a port thats not being affected the speed is back to full.....the worrying thing is im not really a heavy user, im normally only downloading 30mins-1hr max, some days maybe a few minutes
      Last edited by mbezik; 24-01-08 at 02:16 PM.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Port Throttling

      Sky do not throttle on their LLU packages. If they did we would know about it.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      mbezik's Avatar
      mbezik is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      any ideas what may be causing my problems? im using vista ultimate and the supplied mcafee internet security.......when it happens all other aspects of my internet work as normal apart from the ports im using for the newsreaders

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      Quote Originally Posted by mbezik View Post
      a im using vista ultimate and the supplied mcafee internet security
      And if you disable Mcafee?

      Also, you've not said whether you're wireless.

    8. #7
      mbezik's Avatar
      mbezik is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      "Ive also tried 2 other routers which have all been hard wired as i dont use wireless"

      im gonna try shutting down mcafee next time it happens......has anyone else had problems with mcafee limiting bandwidth on certain ports? - i woulda thought if anything it would close the port completly but im kinda new to mcafee

    9. #8
      mbezik's Avatar
      mbezik is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling



      heres what happens - during this period i turned off mcafee and nothing happened to the speed

      heres what happens when i change port


    10. #9
      mbezik's Avatar
      mbezik is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      no ideas?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      You may be unlucky enough to be the subject of a covert Sky beta test for 'throttling', although it would be very strange if they picked a relatively light user for a test. I know it will be difficult to get something like this over to Sky support, but a complaint may be your only option. The KANA form may be your best course, rather than waste time with T1.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION