Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 38 of 38

    Port Throttling

    This is a discussion on Port Throttling within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ok iam going to try another torrent client anyone any info on good ones to use...

    1. #31
      uk-guy's Avatar
      uk-guy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cambuslang 0141
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      lanarkshire
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      ok iam going to try another torrent client anyone any info on good ones to use


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      utorrent . . . . but I doubt it's the client per se.

    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      I have just received an email urging me to download films using SkyAnytime. That doesn't seem to be the action of a company that use port throttling or any other kind of restriction for that matter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      uk-guy's Avatar
      uk-guy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cambuslang 0141
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      lanarkshire
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      moved over to u torrent yesterday everything going fine till today and found another port blocked its becoming too regular now either its a bug with the router or sky are blocking ports no one can seem to provide evidence either way so at the moment iam just waiting for proof

    6. #35
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      Quote Originally Posted by uk-guy View Post
      either its a bug with the router or . . . .
      I guess that's possible. Which router? I've read that the Sagem seems to hate having the upstream saturated and can throw a bit of a wobbler. Are you maxing out the upstream? Could also be too many connections.

    7. #36
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      I wonder if THIS has anything to do with it?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #37
      uk-guy's Avatar
      uk-guy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cambuslang 0141
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      lanarkshire
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I wonder if THIS has anything to do with it?
      holy smokes i was thinking the same thing myself not trying to debunk the theory but why would the operating system continue to block the port i agree it may be playing a part in it not sure whether to try it or not as i am using vista

      ok so let me put couple of questions out to the forum

      1. before moving to sky broadband could users download maxing out there connections. using either win xp sp1-sp2 or vista without having problems with port blocking.?

      2. has the problem of port blocking only became evident when users moved to sky broadband or has the problem always been there.?
      Last edited by uk-guy; 30-01-08 at 06:30 PM. Reason: added a question

    9. #38
      mbezik's Avatar
      mbezik is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Throttling

      id never experienced this with nildram b4 i moved to sky and it didnt start till a few months ago on sky and ive reformatted several times since and it effects both my vista and xp partitions.......im still full speed ahead at the mo which i cant put down to my dodgey skype reg file coz id written it down wrong so i dont think it would of done what it was spose to.....but as long as im getting full speed and not needing to change port im happy

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION