Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    512kps Down on a Max package.

    This is a discussion on 512kps Down on a Max package. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Stumbled across this site looking for some answers, seems an excellent place to get some So I recently moved ...

    1. #1
      Numlock's Avatar
      Numlock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      512kps Downstream sync on a Max package.

      Hi,

      Stumbled across this site looking for some answers, seems an excellent place to get some

      So I recently moved from AOL to sky broadband given the excellent value of their package and my irritation with the AOL support.

      Anyway to the crux of my problem; Just before christmas '07 our phone line developed a fault, you couldn't make or recieve calls on it yet the broadband, 1 meg unlimited at the time, was rock solid and might I add happily chugging away a 1024kps.

      Eventually we get a BT engineer to come out and he fixes the issue with the calls, which turned out to be caused by an external source, but all of a sudden the broadband can't hold a signal, on and off like a yo-yo. So I wrestled with AOL support for about a week on and off over the christmas period and basically got told in the end that they could not provide me with support with my problem without the use of a 'supported' router... I'd been on the service for 3 years, we didn't get a router with it we had a USB modem that had long been disgarded.

      In the end I decided I'd had enough and was a a defnite catalyst for my move to sky. So now I'm live on sky but receiving a whoeful download speed which is astonishingly ( to me anyway) being out-stripped by my upload speed. Its holding a signal sure but not particularly close to the estimated 3meg I was quoted and actually slower than the service I'd been on for over 3 years previously.

      Ive looked over the forums and you guys like your numbers so here they are and comparing them to others their pritty dire;

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 512 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 10.0 db

      So, what can I do about this? My experience with customer support has been... off-putting, even infuriating.

      Should I contact BT possibly? Or is that the responsibility of the provider? Are there any specific questions or points I can raise with either company? I'd really appreciate some educated speculation so i don't end up getting fobbed off by a check list.

      Anyway thanks for reading, look forward to some replies.

      Numlock.
      Last edited by Numlock; 25-01-08 at 02:41 AM. Reason: Just making the title clearer


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: 512kps Down on a Max package.

      Quote Originally Posted by Numlock View Post
      So, what can I do about this? [/B]
      Probably not that much.

      Your line is right at the limit for getting a stable ADSL signal (very high attenuation) and at 63db it can be a matter of pot luck whether your line can support a half a meg or a 2 meg sync. There was never a chance of you getting 3 meg.

      Your upstream is higher than your downstream because the router allocates upstream first and then uses what's left of the available bandwidth for the downstream. If you were on Mid or asked Sky to cap your upstream, you'd probably see your downstream rise a bit. But don't think of that until you do the following:

      To see what might be possible you need to do a comparison test using your test socket which is hidden inside your master socket (assuming you have an NTE5). If your sync rises then you have a problem with your home wiring which you'll have to sort out - see the cabling and faceplate help forum. If the sync doesn't rise then the problem lies with the BT line and I doubt very much that you'd be able to get BT interested in seeing if they could improve it (or in persuading Sky to talk to BT).

      If you don't need the higher upstream or the "unlimited" download allowance then with your connection you'd be better off on Mid or even Base and save yourself some money.
      Last edited by Saturday; 24-01-08 at 12:35 AM.

    4. #3
      Numlock's Avatar
      Numlock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 512kps Down on a Max package.

      Thanks for the reply.

      Used the test socket, download synced about 80-90kps higher so I guess as you say I'm just on the outskirts of the broadband signal. Does anyone know where Ican find out where my exchange is and how far is too far?

      Really interesting to know they sync the upstream first.

      The unlimited download was one of the attractions of the max package, do you think they would be able to limit my upload while keeping that aspect?

      If im stuck at this speed then so be it, its still a great price, gonna have to wait for technology to move and eventually hit my area

    5. #4
      gamesaregood's Avatar
      gamesaregood is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Foxhall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 512kps Down on a Max package.

      Hello Mate,

      Give this a try, it gives striaght line distance so its only a rough idea..


      Sam Knows

      Its the first time i think I've seen the upload higher than the download, that is strange!

      Hope this helps,

      Michael

    6. #5
      Numlock's Avatar
      Numlock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 512kps Down on a Max package.

      Thats an excellent little site, gone straight to my favourites, thanks.

      Well wow wasn't expecting this, I'm 2.6km straight-line distance from the exchange and 2.9km via the roads. This seems very close to me, is it? If it is I will make something happen even if it takes several phone calls a day.

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: 512kps Down on a Max package.

      2.9Km isn't that close and to be honest is only a guestimate. It does not however change the fact that you have very high attenuation.

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: 512kps Down on a Max package.

      Quote Originally Posted by Numlock View Post
      I will make something happen even if it takes several phone calls a day.
      Phone as many times as you like, Sky can't lower your attenuation.

      Whilst it is possible that there is a gross fault on your BT line giving you a higher attenuation figure this would be very evident in your voice calls and I doubt you'd get an ADSL signal at all.

      If you're happy your home wiring is as good as it can be then your only chance would be if there happens to be a spare line pair going by your house that takes a shorter route to the exchange and you can persuade BT to switch you. If you manage that, buy a lottery ticket too as you'd be on a one in a million roll.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 512kps Down on a Max package.

      Well wow wasn't expecting this, I'm 2.6km straight-line distance from the exchange and 2.9km via the roads. This seems very close to me, is it?
      Just as an indicator my straight line length is 1.62K. My actual line length, measured by BT, is 3.54K. So you see, it is entirely possible that your actual length is double, or more, your straight line distance.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Numlock's Avatar
      Numlock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 512kps Down on a Max package.

      Well shal live with it then, just extraordinary stuff where you can pay for a service and still be completely powerless if it doesn't perform to expectations.

      Great to see regulators doing their jobs.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 512kps Down on a Max package.

      You are not exactly powerless. With your download speed you should be able to convince Sky that your Max connection is pointless and they should reduce your package. Going down to Mid (40Gb) would save you a fiver, Base (2Gb) is free. This only applies if you don't really need the unlimited download available with Max. You also have the ultimate sanction of cancelling as you are not receiving the service you were promised.

      Great to see regulators doing their jobs.
      It is not clear what you mean by this. If you mean Ofcom, they are trying to force ISPs not to use meaningless terms like 'Up to 16Mb', but whether they will be successful is another story.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION