Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    New To Sky Broadband

    This is a discussion on New To Sky Broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I am new to sky broadband. I have a few problems configuring sky`s new sagem router. I have connected ...

    1. #1
      jcool144's Avatar
      jcool144 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01942
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New To Sky Broadband

      Hello, I am new to sky broadband.
      I have a few problems configuring sky`s new sagem router.
      I have connected up the router to my pc via ethernet all okay can surf fine.
      (My pc is running vista premium edition)
      I have connected wireless to my laptop (built in wireless, running windows xp)
      I have also connected wireless to my kids pc (netgear usb adapter 802.11g 54mb, running windows xp) all okay.

      The problem occurs when I add keywords to the routers block sites page.
      ie. porn, drugs, ass etc. and then select keyword blocking always.
      (I want to block keywords so the kids are safe.)

      The kids pc although connected will not display any internet sites,pages?
      My pc will only display certain sites, but not legit sites like BBC, SKY EMAIL etc?
      I also have mozilla firefox browser on my pc this also will not display any internet sites,pages?

      So by using keyword blocking the kids pc cannot use the internet, and I can not use firefox or connect to legit sites?
      In short to allow surfing I have to disable keyword blocking?

      Can somenoe please advise me on how to set up the sagem router to allow safe surfing.

      Thanks Joe


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      astra's Avatar
      astra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYELL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      200
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New To Sky Broadband

      You might try using openDNS that can block adult web sites and is also a much better DNS server

      OpenDNS | Providing A Safer And Faster Internet

    4. #3
      jcool144's Avatar
      jcool144 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01942
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: New To Sky Broadband

      can u help i have had a look at the site but they do not have guide for the sagem router. Hence i cant find where to put the dns settings.

      Joe

    5. #4
      mccann85's Avatar
      mccann85 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waterlooville
      Broadband ISP: BE & O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Waterlooville
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New To Sky Broadband

      You need to click Enable OpenDNS, then select computer (https://www.opendns.com/start?device=windows-xp) that will give you the settings to set up on each PC. As your not able to configure the DNS settings on the Sky router's.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New To Sky Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by jcool144 View Post
      So by using keyword blocking the kids pc cannot use the internet, and I can not use firefox or connect to legit sites?
      In short to allow surfing I have to disable keyword blocking?

      Can somenoe please advise me on how to set up the sagem router to allow safe surfing.

      Thanks Joe
      The keyword blocking will only work on a per domain basis. IE You have to put the domain in that you want blocking.

      In reality it is useless unless you know which Sites your kids would be visiting.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      MalcolmD's Avatar
      MalcolmD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: plymstock
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New To Sky Broadband

      Hi there,

      I am new to Sky BB and not connected yet. Have you considered using parental controls on the kids computers.

      I use K9 Web Filtering which is a free product from BlueCoat who provide Enterprise Solutions for companies but offer this program to home users so it should be good and free from any malware etc.

      I use it at home and from time to time I have to allow certain sites for the kids beacuse they are blocked but this is easy and I can do it as a one off or add it permanently.

      Heres the link.

      http://www1.k9webprotection.com/

      Hope that helps.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New To Sky Broadband

      As NR says, key word blocking is not very efficient, all the words you mention can appear quite legitimately on any site, so you end up blocking everything. My son uses NetNany which he finds does the job very well. It costs a few pounds but is well worth it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION