Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Please Help...been like this for months

    This is a discussion on Please Help...been like this for months within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Please help, several weeks calling Sky just for them to fob me off and many hours of reading many forums ...

    1. #1
      wardog365's Avatar
      wardog365 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0114
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Please Help...been like this for months

      Please help, several weeks calling Sky just for them to fob me off and many hours of reading many forums about sky and here i am. why is my connection so slow when my neibours are fast. my friend 5 doors down gets 6.5 meg and i only get 1.5ish


      System Up Time 30:35:10
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6369 8283 0 831 6526 00:24:58
      LAN 10M/100M 2434755 1586260 0 5902 2894 30:35:08
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1536 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.0 db 8.0 db

      sombody please help me... p.s. i'm pretty dumb


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Please Help...been like this for months

      Hi it may be that during your conversations with Sky they have capped your line to enable a more stable connection and constant speed. Also your line attentuation is very high meaning that you are a long distance from your exchange. This would mean that your speed of 1.5mb would be somewhat right. I would thing with that attentuation you shouls be on GDMT as opposed to ASDL, can you confirm. Also how are you connected to the telephone socket?

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Please Help...been like this for months

      with an attenuation of 63 you're lucky to get anything!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      wardog365's Avatar
      wardog365 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0114
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please Help...been like this for months

      Quote Originally Posted by Postman Pat View Post
      I would thing with that attentuation you shouls be on GDMT as opposed to ASDL, can you confirm.
      Dont know what this means, sorry.

      Connected to socket-striaght from modem to socket via a filter.

      System Up Time 25:50:20
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 275422 148574 0 362 874 25:32:49
      LAN 10M/100M 171361 292169 0 1162 442 25:50:18
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1536 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 10.1 db 8.0 db

      Checked Stats again.

      Also Im 2.6 km from exchange.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Please Help...been like this for months

      the 15.5 attenuation is a bug - reset the router and you'll get the 63 you had before...

      best read the stickies in the forum explaining attenuation and noise margins and it'll shed some light on factors affecting BB
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Please Help...been like this for months

      wow what a decrease in your line attentuation, what have you done, moved into the exchange since your last post??????

    8. #7
      wardog365's Avatar
      wardog365 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0114
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: Please Help...been like this for months

      give me a min, i'll reset and try again.

    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Please Help...been like this for months

      It looks like you have rebooted since the first lots of stats because your attenuation is stuck on 15.5db which is a bug you need to reboot the router again to clear it. But going by the first set of stats 63db is very poor which indicates a long way from the exchange and your speed correct. If you are sure your mate up the road gets alot better and he is on the same exchange then you may have a fault on your line. Try removing the face plate of your BT master socket "thats the first one as the line comes in" and see if there is a test socket in there? if so try plugging the router in there. If things improve you may have a fault on your internal wiring.
      Do you think you are a long way from the exchange?

    10. #9
      wardog365's Avatar
      wardog365 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0114
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please Help...been like this for months

      System Up Time 00:02:28
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 88 117 0 253 1922 00:00:58
      LAN 10M/100M 714 653 0 2606 736 00:02:26
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1536 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.6 db 9.0 db

      Reset and this is it.

      You are on the Ecclesfield exchange.
      You are around 2.61 kilometres from your exchange (as the crow flies).


      Also tried the test kine and the same, rang BT a couple of times ans they said they tested the line and it was ok.
      Last edited by wardog365; 23-01-08 at 01:26 AM.

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Please Help...been like this for months

      your attenuation would suggest you're a LOT further then that!! see the link on my sig and see if you have a master socket like the one pictured...if so, try the router in that and then post stats again...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION