Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    New to sky and got problems...

    This is a discussion on New to sky and got problems... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Moved into a brand new house and got sky with the 26 package tv, internet and phone (got to ...

    1. #1
      Ben_uk's Avatar
      Ben_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question New to sky and got problems...

      Hello,

      Moved into a brand new house and got sky with the 26 package tv, internet and phone (got to pay 11 month for bt line) I am in nottingham.

      Had sky in since november last year 2007. but been having problems with internet on and off since installed.

      The problem is it just keeps going dead and then coming back to life.

      Can be on xbox live and it just disconnects (only started doing this past week)

      Can be on the laptop and internet wont load pages and a box pops up asking for login and password details.

      Also can be really slow to load videos and download speeds.

      We have the sagam router (can find model if u need it), 3 wireless laptops connecting to it, no desktops and 2 wireless xbox 360's.

      If you need anymore info just ask

      Like i said problems have been coming and going, the past week its been great then today its gone bad again and forced me to find help.

      Thanks Ben


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New to sky and got problems...

      prob just a wireless issue...which is crap at the best of times!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: New to sky and got problems...

      Tyr changing the WiFi channel number on your Router - it maybe that some other new equipment (DECT phone, Microwave Oven) is interfering. Try Channels 1 and then 10 to see if it improves.

      Also move things like DECT phones away from the Router.

    5. #4
      Ben_uk's Avatar
      Ben_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky and got problems...

      We have wireless phones and the base is right next to the modem, not sure if its a DECT though how can i tell ?

      Also how do i change the wifi channels on the router ?

      Thanks

      /edit

      the modem is not connected to the master socket just found this out, theres no way it can be connected to the master socket no mains close by and its right by the front door.

      Also got theses filter adapters that came with the modem, should they be plugged into the phone socket that the normal phone is using or just for the modem ?
      Last edited by Ben_uk; 23-01-08 at 08:56 PM.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to sky and got problems...

      Everything connected to the phone line must be connected with a filter. This includes the Sky digi-box.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Ben_uk's Avatar
      Ben_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky and got problems...

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Everything connected to the phone line must be connected with a filter. This includes the Sky digi-box.
      Ok the sky box is not connected with a filter will change that now.

      Gonna move the modem upstairs away from the phone base.

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New to sky and got problems...

      moving the router further from the master will only compound the problems...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to sky and got problems...

      Agreed. You would be better to move the phone rather than the router, if at all possible. If the extension is in perfect condition it may be OK, but most extensions cause problems of one kind on another.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Ben_uk's Avatar
      Ben_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky and got problems...

      OK thanks for the info.

      For now i have moved the router upstairs which works out well as i can connect the desktop PC with the rj-45 cable and use it online.

      Internet been good for past few days so will see how it goes.

      If the problems return will move the phone upstairs and modem back down so its closer to master socket.

      Just done a speed test an got results of download 6917 kbs upload of 360 kbs, that seems alright for a 8Mb connection ?

      Thanks

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION