Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Losing my connection

    This is a discussion on Losing my connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Don't know if I've missed anything in the conditions of use or the router setup but after a period of ...

    1. #1
      steveob's Avatar
      steveob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01932
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Losing my connection

      Don't know if I've missed anything in the conditions of use or the router setup but after a period of not using the internet, usually a couple of hours, I lose my connection. Turning my router off, the new Sagem one, and turning it back on has no effect. Ipconfig gives me a dns and pinging the router gets a reply. Clicking on "repair" in Network Connections has no effect. The only way to get the connection back is to restart the PC and then everything works again.

      Is this normal and is there anything I can do short of phoning Sky?

      Thanks in advance for any replies.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Losing my connection

      when it kicks off, can you log into the router? if so, does it have an IP address?

      also, can you ping websites by URL/IP?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Puffin's Avatar
      Puffin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01428
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing my connection

      I have the same problem. I have Netgear wireless router.
      Don't bother to phone sky it's completely useless and just a waste of money.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Losing my connection

      what sort of first post is that??

      first, there are those here who work for Sky so insulting them isn't gonna get you far...

      secondly, what's your situation? setup? what have you done so far to resolve it?

      jumping in with insults gets you nowhere...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      steveob's Avatar
      steveob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01932
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing my connection

      Thanks for the suggestion Iamnottheenemy but how do you log in to the router? I do not appear to have received a password for it and have seen in other posts that it is not available for the new Sagem router. As I said in my first post, I can do ipconfig and get an address and ping the router but cannot repair the connection. Operating system is Media Centre 2005 and this is my first ADSL connection. Was previously with Virgin cable and never had this particular problem. When the same thing happened a week or so ago, I seem to remember that I used my wireless laptop and that connected. even though the wired desktop would not. I need it to go down again, however. to check that out.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Losing my connection

      Put http://192.168.0.1 in the browser address bar(or click the link). Username - admin password - sky.

      Just noticed you say you can sometimes connect with wireless and not with ethernet. This suggests a problem with the PC settings, it is unlikely to be the router.
      Last edited by Isitme; 20-01-08 at 09:26 PM. Reason: add info

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Losing my connection

      If rebooting the router dosen't restore the connection but rebooting the PC doe's then it is likely the problems is with your PC. Are you using wireless and Vista?? I read somewhere on the forum that some people have had problems with Vista and wireless. If this is the case you need to have a trawl because I cant remember where the post was. If you are not wireless then ignore this post lol.

    9. #8
      steveob's Avatar
      steveob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01932
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing my connection

      As I said earlier, using Media Centre 2005 which is basically XP Pro. Isitme, where do I get the username and admin password from? All I have is my main user name which is the first part of my email address before the @ and the account password. I have no password for the router which I had with my old Dell router. I was under the impression that Sky did not give these details in order to stop people using their own routers or changing the password etc. I have tried the user name and password as above and also the wireless settings 9in every combination I can think of with no success.

      However, Checked on the properties of my ethernet card and found that the box allowing the PC to put the card in to standby was ticked. Have unticked that and will wait and see if that has any effect.

      I find it hard to believe, however, that it is the PC as it never occurred with NTL/Virgin cable and my Dell router.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Losing my connection

      the username for the the router IS admin, password IS sky

      and just cause your PC works fine with one ISP, it doesnt mean it won't work with another - things can, and do, go wrong...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      steveob's Avatar
      steveob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01932
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing my connection

      Many thanks Iamnottheenemy. Now just have to wait for the problem to reoccur and then I can at least check out the router. Just one question though, does the gateway IP address for the ADSL port remain static or is that dynamic? In other words, if I get the loss of connection, can I try pinging the IP address I have just made a note of?

      Thanks again.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION