Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sagem remote Management

    This is a discussion on Sagem remote Management within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Just received my Sagem router and I would like to set up the remote management port but the check ...

    1. #1
      NathanA's Avatar
      NathanA is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crowborough
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem remote Management

      Hi Just received my Sagem router and I would like to set up the remote management port but the check box is greyed out and cannot be enabled. Has anyone got this working? I have changed the password to a very strong one (>12 chars, upper lower case + alpha numberic)....

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem remote Management

      It is available in the old routers, but it is possible Sky have disabled it in the new versions as a security measure.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sagem remote Management

      Cannot turn it on on my Sagem either.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sagem remote Management





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      adispiric's Avatar
      adispiric is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem remote Management

      did anyone solve this issue?

    7. #6
      JasonWilliams's Avatar
      JasonWilliams is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      Preston, Lancashire
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem remote Management

      MAD!! It would appear it's a Sky-disabled option see here for the info .... that makes no bloody sense!!

    8. #7
      Sheepman's Avatar
      Sheepman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Re: Sagem remote Management

      The option is not disabled.

      It is not that you can't turn it on but instead cannot turn it off.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem remote Management

      I don't know why you would want to enable Remote Management, unless you are not sure what to do and want someone else to configure your router over the internet. Remote Management only gives access to the available router settings, it does not allow access to PCs connected to the router.

      If it is on by default and cannot be changed then I would be very annoyed, as this is a bad risk.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Sheepman's Avatar
      Sheepman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Re: Sagem remote Management

      You can cover over it by port forwarding Port 80

      Look here: My short tutorial
      just forward port 80 to an unused ip and it should prevent access to the remote management from outside your network.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION