Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Bad Line or Am I Capped?

    This is a discussion on Bad Line or Am I Capped? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Do my stats show I have a prob with line or am I capped? Anyone help?...

    1. #1
      arsenal2940's Avatar
      arsenal2940 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344 Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Broadband Fibre Optic
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Bracknell, Berks
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bad Line or Am I Capped?



      Do my stats show I have a prob with line or am I capped?

      Anyone help?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Bad Line or Am I Capped?

      Quote Originally Posted by arsenal2940 View Post
      Do my stats show I have a prob with line or am I capped?
      What stats? That's just a speedtest result and without more info doesn't tell you anything.

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Bad Line or Am I Capped?

      could not tell from your speed test ?
      if wireless try a wired test

      could you post your router stats

    5. #4
      arsenal2940's Avatar
      arsenal2940 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344 Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Broadband Fibre Optic
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Bracknell, Berks
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad Line or Am I Capped?

      512kb downstream
      224k upstream
      line attenuation 57db downstream 31.5 upstream
      noise margin 21.3 downstream 6db upstream.

      I am wireless, but have tried the ethernet cable and the master socket test, both don't change my stats.

      Filters in correct places as far as i know.

    6. #5
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Bad Line or Am I Capped?

      best test to do would be only plug router into test socket (with filter) and get some new stats
      you could be capped BUT your low upstream noise margin makes me think it might be a line problem.
      i have similar problems now and then, my normal connection speed is around 7 meg with downstream noise of around 10 as i have been capped, and a upstream of about 13, but i do get intermitant line problems and my sync falls over, i then get sync of anywhere between 2.5 and 4 meg upstream noise margin all over the place and downsteam drops to 6


      EDIT: just read one of your other posts where you state you have spoken to sky and they capped you ! seems a little strange to start a thread asking the same thing after
      Last edited by richone54; 19-01-08 at 01:03 AM.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Bad Line or Am I Capped?

      Yes, why ask when Sky have told you that you are. Your high SNR suggests your line may do a bit better, ask them to raise you a bit. You could probably get about 1Mb or a bit more.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION