Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    New Here

    This is a discussion on New Here within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I signed up yesterday to take Sky broadband and the like, I have a few probably newbie questions. Firstly ...

    1. #1
      Gizzy's Avatar
      Gizzy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile New Here

      Hi
      I signed up yesterday to take Sky broadband and the like, I have a few probably newbie questions.

      Firstly this site has so much info its hard to know where to start

      What do I get sent from Sky for broadband wise, Ive seen 3 different routers mentioned ? I do like a bit of online gaming, so would I need to speak to "Tier 3" in order to make this better or is everything resolved now and working straight out of the box ?

      Finally, I have plumped for the max, now I no its an "upto 16mb" service, but if in reality my line will only support 8 would I need to regrade or would they do that automatically ?

      Sorry for the questions !

      Thanks in advance !


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Here

      welcome!,

      there is no such thing as tier 3 anymore, tier 2 & 3 merged to form CST (customer solutions team) - and yes, you may need to speak to them should you have issues with gaming.

      as for the router, you'll get a V2 one, either Netgear or Sagem - most likely the Sagem...

      as for package, you'll prob get set to 8Mbps from the outset - if not then there are things you can do to keep connection stable without having to get Sky to cap your line...

      best thing to do in the meantime is to get the wiring your end sorted. Have you ever tried your connection in your test socket (should you have one)? have a look at the master socket link in my sig and see if you have one of these styles of master socket. The best possible connection will be achieved in the test socket and extentions are a general no no...

      have a read of the 'stickies' in the forums to get an idea of what you can do before hand...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Gizzy's Avatar
      Gizzy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Here

      IAmNotTheEnemy
      thanks for the quick reply, Im busy wading through the forums as I type, currently with another provider for adsl (upto 8mb) getting approx 7150mb

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Here

      if you happen to know the attenuation/snr of your current connection then a ball park speed figure estimate can be given...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Gizzy's Avatar
      Gizzy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Here

      Thanks :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.0 db 20.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 25.0 db


      Hope that helps

    7. #6
      mccann85's Avatar
      mccann85 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waterlooville
      Broadband ISP: BE & O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Waterlooville
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Here

      Well you should be able to get between 12mb to 14mb.

    8. #7
      Gizzy's Avatar
      Gizzy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Here

      thas great thanks

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION