Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Is it me,the pc or the bloody router

    This is a discussion on Is it me,the pc or the bloody router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi like obi wan kanobi your my only hope,last friday i set the wii up to the netgear router,everything was ...

    1. #1
      scoff72's Avatar
      scoff72 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Is it me,the pc or the bloody router

      hi
      like obi wan kanobi your my only hope,last friday i set the wii up to the netgear router,everything was fine the wii updated etc.The problem is that since this happened i haven't been able to go online with my desktop pc,the pc in question is using a ethernet cable,all the lights are on etc too.
      The laptop we have connects wirelessly,so does the xbox 360,but the pc which is ethernet wired wont,i've tried all the usual firewall off etc,but nothing,before i got the wii set up i had the internet gateway icon showing in network connections but now nothing its not there,i just want to know which bit of the process i'm missing out,i cant even access the router from the pc with the 192.168.0.1 address

      PLEASE PLEASE SOMEBODY HELP,i gave up the smokes at new year this just might drive me back to them.............................................. lol


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is it me,the pc or the bloody router

      it'll be something your end not the router - if all lights are on and other devices can connect/use the 'net then something's changed your end...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      scoff72's Avatar
      scoff72 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it me,the pc or the bloody router

      thanks for that,but i'm at a loss what it is,does anybody know what it is or how to fix plz

    5. #4
      greyrider's Avatar
      greyrider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Somewhere
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it me,the pc or the bloody router

      You might have managed to lock the desktop out when you "set the wii up". Start from scratch, do a factory reset on the router and see what happens.

    6. #5
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Is it me,the pc or the bloody router

      I think it might be helpful if the OP were to explain exactly what he did to set the Wii up. Did it involve making changes to the desktop PC? Or the router? Otherwise he might end up repeating the same mistake.

    7. #6
      scoff72's Avatar
      scoff72 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it me,the pc or the bloody router

      havinhanks for the replies
      g looked on some forums i read that changing the channel on the router worked,i did that wii connected but then thats when i hit this prob,thanks for the replies

    8. #7
      scoff72's Avatar
      scoff72 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it me,the pc or the bloody router

      i also have reset the router and also rebooted the router,nothing changed i'm pretty sure its the pc but stumped on how to fix

    9. #8
      greyrider's Avatar
      greyrider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Somewhere
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it me,the pc or the bloody router

      Now I know this might sound daft, but if all you did was change wireless channel and that resulted in loss of your Ethernet connection.....did you by any chance pick up the router and j,j,jiggle it about during the process? Try checking the Ethernet cable is fully plugged in at both ends, PC and router.
      And...Start/Settings/Network Connections...does a "Local Area Connection" appear there?
      Last edited by greyrider; 16-01-08 at 04:27 PM. Reason: spellnung

    10. #9
      scoff72's Avatar
      scoff72 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it me,the pc or the bloody router

      the ethernet cable is correctly plugged in as when i take it out the icon try says it has been,also the router wasn't touched during the processs,thats all i did go into my router change the channel to one the wii picked up then on return to pc no connection,when i look in network connections all it has is the local area connection,when i open this up it shows a connection speed of 100mbps but on the packets bit underneath nothing no packets sent or recieved

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Is it me,the pc or the bloody router

      Check in the LAN properties that you are set to 'Obtain an IP Automatically'. What happens when you switch everything else off then reboot your PC? Can you connect? Are you certain the ethernet cable is properly plugged in to the back of your PC? Have you tried connecting one of your laptops by ethernet? A lot of ?s, but one may hit the mark

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION