Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    need expert opinion

    This is a discussion on need expert opinion within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; iam a very unhappy bt customer cpl yrs back was put on upto 8mb line now i no that its ...

    1. #1
      uk-guy's Avatar
      uk-guy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cambuslang 0141
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      lanarkshire
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      need expert opinion

      iam a very unhappy bt customer cpl yrs back was put on upto 8mb line now i no that its not guaranteed however iam moving over to sky bb max next week can anyone look at my stats and give me a personal opinion on the state of my line
      before i switch over

      Line Mode G.DMT Line State Show Time
      Latency Type Interleave Line Up Time 00:00:57:57
      Line Coding Trellis On Line Up Count 1

      Statistics Downstream Upstream
      Line Rate 2752 Kbps 448 Kbps
      Noise Margin 15.1 dB 20.0 dB
      Line Attenuation 44.0 dB 22.5 dB
      Output Power 18.8 dBm 11.9 dBm
      K (number of bytes in DMT frame) 87 15
      R (number of check bytes in RS code word) 16 16
      S (RS code word size in DMT frame) 2 8
      D (interleaver depth) 16 4
      Super Frames 204487 204485
      Super Frame Errors 6 0
      RS Words 6952572 1738122
      RS Correctable Errors 571 0
      RS Uncorrectable Errors 48 0
      HEC Errors 5 0
      OCD Errors 0 0
      LCD Errors 0 0
      ES Errors 0 0

      do i have a poor line...?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: need expert opinion

      You should be able to do better than 2752kbit/sec with that attenuation. The problem is, though, that even though you've opted for the Sky Broadband Max package, you're unlikely to be put on ADSL2+ because it will offer only a small amount of extra speed but reduce the reliability of your connection considerably. This means that you'll be put on G.DMT which is the same system (give or take a few tweaks) as BT use. That in turn means you'll get roughly the same speeds as before.

      It would definitely be worthwhile having a look at the Cabling and Faceplate Help section for tips on improving the telephone wiring in your home, and implementing any improvements before you're switched over.

    4. #3
      uk-guy's Avatar
      uk-guy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cambuslang 0141
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      lanarkshire
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: need expert opinion

      so the higher attenuation the better the line right?
      1. would it be worth while calling bt and reporting low connection speed?
      2.iam currently running 1pc down stairs linked via router and cable into the master socket and the second pc a lap top upstairs plugged into a extension which was hard wired into the master socket all very well done considering my father is ex bt engineer i know what your thinking why am i not taking the wireless connection from the downstairs one well i have a imacg5 upstairs plugged into the router upstairs which is feeding my lap top i just couldent get my mac to talk to my modem router hope that is more information on my current set up

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: need expert opinion

      No, no, the higher the attenuation, the worse the line. 44dB should get you something around 6 to 8Mbit/sec.

      As for the wiring, a properly fitted extension will have wires 2, 3, 4 and 5 connected. Wires 2 and 5 carry the telephone signal, wire 3 (often referred to as the bell wire) carries the ringing signal, and wire 4 is completely unused. This works very well for telephones but is less than ideal if you're using microfilters (which you will be, since you have broadband). Microfilters generate their own ringing signal, which leaves wire 3 just acting as an aerial for interference. It's a good idea to remove it at the master socket, just leaving wires 2 and 5 (the orange and white ones) connected. This usually improves signal to noise ratios considerably.

      The other alternative is to fit an ADSL faceplate. This solves all the "bell wire" problems, but the ADSL signal will only be available at the master socket, not at extension sockets, unless you wire in a separate, dedicated ADSL extension.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: need expert opinion

      2 & 5 on most are blue and white, orange and white is the bell wire (from past experience)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: need expert opinion

      Oops, yes you're right, I got the colours mixed up. It's the blue and white ones that you keep connected.

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: need expert opinion

      in theory, should it matter which are in use so long as both are attached to the same pins either end?...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: need expert opinion

      True, provided the two signal wires are part of a twisted pair.

    10. #9
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: need expert opinion

      Quote Originally Posted by uk-guy View Post
      2.iam currently running 1pc down stairs linked via router and cable into the master socket and the second pc a lap top upstairs plugged into a extension which was hard wired into the master socket all very well done considering my father is ex bt engineer i know what your thinking why am i not taking the wireless connection from the downstairs one well i have a imacg5 upstairs plugged into the router upstairs which is feeding my lap top i just couldent get my mac to talk to my modem router hope that is more information on my current set up
      I am puzzled - are you saying you have 2 routers on the same telephone line? I did not think this was possible.

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: need expert opinion

      it isnt - unless he linked them via ethernet and is using one as a gateway...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION