Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 123

    I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

    This is a discussion on I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok thanks, just gotta wait for the 10 days to end -.-...

    1. #41
      MarkBean's Avatar
      MarkBean is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      Ok thanks, just gotta wait for the 10 days to end -.-


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      I would not wait for the 10 days, you are on the wrong service and no matter how long you wait that is not going to change. You must contact Sky and politely insist that they check the service you are receiving, your are on 288/288, not Up to 8Mb, either Sky Mid or Connect which ever is available to you.

      Sky really must get this sorted out, there could be 100s in your position.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #43
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      its BT screwing them up, and its getting sorted...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #44
      hxannibal's Avatar
      hxannibal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Glencryan, Cumbernauld
      Broadband ISP: 8Mbps
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      North Lanarkshire
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      im just accepting defeat and am gonna be stuck at 288kbps forever by the look of things - i have no choice altho i guess for a fiver a month, well man i dont know.
      although it seems suspicious that the speed has never fluctuated away from the 288kbps mark?
      going to phone BT and try and find an resolution from them.
      thnks for all the help guys - well and truly appreciated!

    6. #45
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      ^^^^^^^^
      Don't give up! Your stats suggest you should get about 6 or 7 Mbs. You must try to convince them (Sky) that you have been put on the wrong package by BT and you are not prepared to accept it. Tell them with an attenuation of 39dbs and SNR of 31dbs you know your line is severely capped. If you get no joy, threaten to escalate it to Mr. Murdoch, their boss, with a complaint that they are not doing their job properly.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #46
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      quoting snr's and attenuation levels will just be greeted by a 'what?!?'

      you NEED to get CST on the line and explain it to them that you're on the wrong package - a quick check with BT will reveal this and then Sky can log it to be to be changed...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #47
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      quoting snr's and attenuation levels will just be greeted by a 'what?!?'
      Please don't tell me that CST 'technicians' don't understand these basic terms?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #48
      Jiggy's Avatar
      Jiggy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      Well its 48 hours after i rang sky and finally got to the point where they admitted i had been set up on the wrong speed and were going to log it to bt to be changed....

      and guess what... yup, its still 288/288.

      I know 48hours isnt a huge amount of time, but i was told 24hours, and 48 at an absolute max!!!

      Nethertheless i have a reference number i can phone up with so will be doing so soon! (the fact they gave me one suggests they knew it wasnt going to be straightforward!!!)

      Has anyone else had this problem and actually had it sorted? and if so what sort of timescale are we looking at?

      Thanks!

    10. #49
      dave76's Avatar
      dave76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Saddleworth
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      I got them to acknowledge the problem on monday and they said it might take 5 working days. I got a call from someone at sky yesterday to say that they had now confirmed with BT that the line needs regrading and should be done by saturday evening at the latest.

      If this "regrade" needs an engineer to go the exchange then I would expect that to take a few days as there are only a finite number of engineers! - but you might be lucky if an engineer is due at your exchange soon as I guess it would be added to his list of jobs at that exchange.

    11. #50
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Please don't tell me that CST 'technicians' don't understand these basic terms?
      CST do, tier 1 (mostly) don't...

      on another note, people who call up 'thinking' they know what to do just cause of they've read it here are the most annoying people there are - 'a little knowledge in the wrong hands is a dangerous thing' and all...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION