Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 123

    I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

    This is a discussion on I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; thanks for replying! i rang sky last night and got through to the higher level of advisors. i explained my ...

    1. #31
      Jiggy's Avatar
      Jiggy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      thanks for replying!

      i rang sky last night and got through to the higher level of advisors. i explained my problem to them and the chap on the end of the phone checked and said i may have been put on the wrong product and that he would be contacting bt to upgrade me to the maximum adsl.

      I recieved a reference number so i can check on the situation however i was informed that it would be done within 24 hours, or by weds at the latest.

      Do i need to reset my router at any point to establish the correct speeds, or will it update itself?

      thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      MarkBean's Avatar
      MarkBean is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      I'm stuck at 288kb/s Up and Down too, but I'm on Mid not Connect, got activated 5 days ago now, is it possible it's the same problem?

      Or any idea's? O.o
      I'm using the master socket, and have tried the test socket to no avail.

      Sky say they can't do anything until the 10 days are up.

    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      Are you sure you are on Mid? There have been cases where users signed up for Mid and were put on Connect until the exchange was ready. Try this. Go to BT Speedtest enter your phone number then your ADSL username. This will do an official BT speed test and show your present profile. Your ADSL username is <the MAC number of your router, no colons, followed by> @skydsl

      Test Result

      If it works, you are definitely on Connect. It may take a few attempts to get on, but if you get past the first page and are asked for a username, this indicates you are on Connect. If it fails after the phone number is entered a few times, then you are probably on Mid.

      Edit - Further if you are on Mid you should not have to wait 10 days for action,

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      MarkBean's Avatar
      MarkBean is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      Erm, there's no where to put a MAC code in.

    6. #35
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      You put it in on the second screen after you have put in your phone number. It will be in the form of 6t6t6t6t6t6t@skdsl, which is put into the username box.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #36
      MarkBean's Avatar
      MarkBean is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      It just went straight into the test, no box for it :-\

      That mean we're on Connect?

    8. #37
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      I would say so. If you were on Mid you would have got

      Unexpected result received when querying the network to find your services connection details. Please try again shortly, but if this problem persists raise the issue with your service provider.
      What were your test results?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #38
      MarkBean's Avatar
      MarkBean is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      It won't finish the test again, but it told me my speed and some other stuff, pretty sure I saw a BT broadband address somewhere.

    10. #39
      MarkBean's Avatar
      MarkBean is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      Oh, it finally finished:

      The speed test has completed on test server speedtester1.nat.bt.com for user ######### and you have downloaded a 1.7Mb file at a speed of 28 kilo bits per second (Kbps), your service bandwidth will have been quoted to you in kilo bits per second.

    11. #40
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      You are on Connect with a very poor connection. Phone Sky, get past T1 and ask that your service type be checked. You have been messed about by Sky, by not telling you you were on Connect and by BT for putting you on the wrong service.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION