Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 123

    I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

    This is a discussion on I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i am on 288 max u/l d/l and am in the process of being changed to adsl max! From reading ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      i am on 288 max u/l d/l and am in the process of being changed to adsl max!
      From reading several posts, BT seem to have put quite a few on the wrong service.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Jiggy's Avatar
      Jiggy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      Hello, does anyone have any more information on this issue? I also appear to have been put on a 288/288 connection, and tier 3 also told me the most my line can handle is 512. I know this isnt the case as prior to this i was showing down speeds of 7mb.

      I really dont know what to do as i asked about a cease and reconnect but i was told that it can take upto a month to achieve, and that i should 1st contact BT.

      The problem is i dont know what im supposed to be contacting BT about!!

      If i ring sky back and ask for a cease and reconnect should this sort the problem? or will BT be able to do it for me if i ring them?

      Thanks!

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      It would be pointless ringing BT, they would just refer you back to Sky. Phone Sky get on to T3, or whatever they are called now, and get them to check what service you are on. Tell them you know from past experience that the line can handle a much higher speed and you know that others have been put on the wrong service by BT by mistake. Please be firm but polite, slagging them off will get you nowhere and it is not really Sky's fault.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      dave76's Avatar
      dave76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Saddleworth
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      I spoke to someone higher than T1 today and they are going to regrade my line from 288/288 to the BT ADSL Max product (for sky connect up to 8Mb) - he couldnt give firm timescales but said hopefully it would be within 5 working days

    6. #25
      bertaird's Avatar
      bertaird is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141880
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      barrhead
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      my problem was resolved with the same solution dave,BT had pit me on adsl 288 u/s 288 d/s spoke to tier 3 who need to ask bt to change me to adsl max same time scale as you dave 5 days

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      I don't understand why BT are suddenly making this mistake after nearly 2 years of getting it right. One exchange I could understand, but not scattered across the country. Do you think they may have instituted an 'anti-Sky' policy after loosing a great number of subscribers?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      Paddymcc's Avatar
      Paddymcc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      Quote Originally Posted by bertaird View Post
      my problem was resolved with the same solution dave,BT had pit me on adsl 288 u/s 288 d/s spoke to tier 3 who need to ask bt to change me to adsl max same time scale as you dave 5 days
      How did you guys get talking to T3?

      Sky tried to tell me the fastest speed i can get is 512KB while BT are offering 6MB.

    9. #28
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      Connect is a BT service on BT equipment run by BT but re-sold by Sky. See a pattern here?
      Can you post your stats in your thread and also explain how the router is connected to the telephone line (number of sockets in property, any extensions, are you in the main socket etc)?

    10. #29
      Paddymcc's Avatar
      Paddymcc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Connect is a BT service on BT equipment run by BT but re-sold by Sky. See a pattern here?
      Can you post your stats in your thread and also explain how the router is connected to the telephone line (number of sockets in property, any extensions, are you in the main socket etc)?
      Where abouts would i find the stats?

      The line is plugged directly into the main socket and its the only telephone outlet in the house.

      I remember Sky telling me something when i was on the telephoen ordering that i couldnt get the mainstream servcie they offer themselves.

    11. #30
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: I am new to sky and on connect is 288 kbps u/s and d/s normal?

      Directly into the main socket? Do you have a filter on the socket first?
      If it's a black router then use the instructions here
      SkyUser - Router Stats V2
      If its the white netgear then
      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to get your router statistics

     

     
    Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION