Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Slow Speeds - Mid

    This is a discussion on Slow Speeds - Mid within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I cannot for the life of me figure out why my speeds are so low, perhaps some of you folk ...

    1. #1
      Michael1406's Avatar
      Michael1406 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Basingstoke
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow Speeds - Mid

      I cannot for the life of me figure out why my speeds are so low, perhaps some of you folk can assist me?

      Speed tests show about 300Kb/s speeds BOTH ways, with the upload being as normal but the download being lower than the upload.

      I used to be able to get the maximum speed (I got 820KB/s when I downloaded Open Office via torrent before), but now it's dropped to measly speeds, download manager or not. It's been like this for a number of months now, and I haven't complained because for 5 a month I don't mind as much as a connection 5x the price!

      Time for some stats:
      Code:
       Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 	        A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status 	                Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 	8190 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 	393 kbps
      VPI 	                        0
      VCI 	                        38
      Code:
      ADSL Link  	       Downstream  	Upstream
      Connection Speed 	8190 kbps 	393 kbps
      Line Attenuation 	42.5 db 	25.4 db
      Noise Margin 	         6.8 db 	23.5 db
      I know what you'll instantly thing regarding the Noise Margin, but even at 8.4 or whatever it was earlier on it was still the same regarding speed. There's no virii on my PC, and 90% of the time no one else is connected to the router. I am connected wirelessly, but like I said the speeds dropped without any change in settings or environment.

      The only thing I can think of is that Sky has capped me...but if they decided to cap me I would have been contacted, right? I haven't been emailed, that's for sure, and no phone calls either.

      Would changing the micro-filter help at all? I have 3 spares (the 1st router I had died so 2 extra filters, but the speeds were bad before the router change.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Mid

      you dont get capped by Sky - unless you're on Connect as its throttled by BT...

      also, try wired...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Michael1406's Avatar
      Michael1406 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Basingstoke
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Mid

      That's not possible for me - both PCs are upstairs. I'll ask my mate to bring his laptop round ASAP and check.

      Will ringing Sky get me anywhere?

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Mid

      You're not capped but you are wireless and that's probably the problem (i.e. interference). Try experimenting with a different wireless channel, or even better go wired - of course it's possible.

    6. #5
      Michael1406's Avatar
      Michael1406 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Basingstoke
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Mid

      Physically it's possible, but it's never going to happen in my house and I can understand why.

      I've just changed from channel 6 to 11 (the channel of the old router), and there's no difference.

      I am of course open to all possibilities, but nothing has changed electrically in the house -- everything pretty much stays the same.

      I'll experiment with more channels tomorrow, as I have work tomorrow and need to go to bed.

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds - Mid

      You need to get it onto an ethernet cable for testing, if you ring Sky they will ask you to do that as the router is saying it's connected at the correct speed but you are seeing something else when downloading.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION