Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    slow adsl2 speeds..

    This is a discussion on slow adsl2 speeds.. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; are you in the master, or the test? two different things......

    1. #11
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: slow adsl2 speeds..

      are you in the master, or the test? two different things...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      ukdy's Avatar
      ukdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Solihull
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow adsl2 speeds..

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      are you in the master, or the test? two different things...
      ok sorry... i'd taken the faceplate off and have been using the test socket...

    4. #13
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: slow adsl2 speeds..

      then there is a definately issue somewhere on the line...do you have anything before the master socket, like a junction box? this may be causing issues...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #14
      ukdy's Avatar
      ukdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Solihull
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow adsl2 speeds..

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      then there is a definately issue somewhere on the line...do you have anything before the master socket, like a junction box? this may be causing issues...
      not as far as i know... the line comes to our house from a telegraph pole across the street, from there it goes into a small box on the outside of our house (about the size of a cigarette pack)... from there a cable comes down and straight into the house and into the bt master socket

    6. #15
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: slow adsl2 speeds..

      so you have overhead lines? ever heard of weather?....

      seriously, if you've had rubbish weather of late it may very well be playing havoc with your line...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #16
      ukdy's Avatar
      ukdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Solihull
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow adsl2 speeds..

      well i'm in solihull in the w.midlands, but come rain or shine, hail or snow... the line speed is no different.

      i'm gonna check the cabling at the back of the socket tomorrow and see if there is any loose connections.

    8. #17
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: slow adsl2 speeds..

      just cause it hasn't before, doesn't mean it cant now...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #18
      ukdy's Avatar
      ukdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Solihull
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow adsl2 speeds..

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      just cause it hasn't before, doesn't mean it cant now...
      i'll check the cabling... then reconnect... if that doesn't report the problem i'm gonna give sky a call..

    10. #19
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: slow adsl2 speeds..

      ^^^only thing sky can do is to cap your speed !!
      (this should help the errors if thats what your after)

    11. #20
      ukdy's Avatar
      ukdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Solihull
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow adsl2 speeds..

      well i'm a bit lost then...

      either it's something with the line.. which i can't talk to sky about because they 'might' cap my speed... or i wait for the weather to improve!!

      i doubt sky would cap my line seeing as i had no problems for the first four months and now i have all these errors on the line... would they not investigate this before recommending a cap?

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION