Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Loading pages

    This is a discussion on Loading pages within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; For the last couple of days almost every time I've tried to access a webpage it's come up as "page ...

    1. #1
      kimc's Avatar
      kimc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontefract
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      257
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Loading pages

      For the last couple of days almost every time I've tried to access a webpage it's come up as "page cannot be displayed". After a refresh it comes up no problem.

      Any idea whats causing this?

      Kim
      *****************
      *****************


      Kims Design


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ononotagain's Avatar
      ononotagain is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01296
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loading pages

      Quote Originally Posted by kimc View Post
      For the last couple of days almost every time I've tried to access a webpage it's come up as "page cannot be displayed". After a refresh it comes up no problem.

      Any idea whats causing this?

      Kim
      is that every page or just the first page you try access?

    4. #3
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loading pages

      "For the last couple of days almost every time
      I've tried to access a webpage it's come up as
      "page cannot be displayed"." -kimc

      This has happened a few times to me too.
      I think it mostly happens when I use Firefox,
      but Explorer seems okay.

    5. #4
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Loading pages

      I have had this happen for a while, every so often a page will not load and after a quick refresh it loads up. I put it down to something with Firefox. It is not a major problem so I can quite happily live with it.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Loading pages

      I also use Firefox and have the same sort of symptoms occasionally.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      kimc's Avatar
      kimc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontefract
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      257
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loading pages

      Well if I had firefox I could say I'm glad it's not just me, but I only use IE.......lol. It usually happens when I've emptied TIF and cookies. Once I've visited a website and refreshed I don't usually have the problem on a revisit until cache has been cleared again.
      Thanks for the replies, appreciated
      Kim
      *****************
      *****************


      Kims Design

    8. #7
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loading pages

      "Server not found" is still happening to me,
      a couple of times every day.
      Often, but not exclusively, when I'm on Skyuser.co.uk
      A click on refresh or try again and the problem
      is solved.
      But what causes this to happen?
      Last edited by murdock; 28-01-08 at 12:03 PM. Reason: revised

    9. #8
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Loading pages

      I wish I knew what is causing it,for me it isn't a hastle has it has been occuring for months and it is almsot a second nature for me refreshing the page.

    10. #9
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loading pages

      This is a recent problem for me.
      Maybe one month only.
      The evidence posted so far suggests it is not caused
      by the browser (Firefox or Explorer) that you use.

      kimc. Is it still happening to you?

    11. #10
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Loading pages

      I never had it with BT so perhaps it is a Sky only related issue. Would like to hear from people who are not on Sky to see if they get it as well.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION