Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    Intermittent cutouts! At my wits end...

    This is a discussion on Intermittent cutouts! At my wits end... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; In the last 4-6 weeks, our internet connection has been intermittently cutting out. Wired ADSL connection, 'up to 8MB', 'Super ...

    1. #1
      D_TOX's Avatar
      D_TOX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Intermittent cutouts! At my wits end...

      In the last 4-6 weeks, our internet connection has been intermittently cutting out.

      Wired ADSL connection, 'up to 8MB', 'Super Wireless ADSL Router (White) Netgear - DG834GT.

      Here's the deal: During the first 4 weeks of the problem, the internet would cut out every 10 minutes, forcing a router reboot, only for it to last another 10 minutes, and we'd have to repeat the process. This process would have to be repeated constantly to maintain connection. Every 10-15 minutes it would just stop working.

      So i phoned Sky and was basically just insulted for 45 minutes ''Type Netstat in CMD prompt'', all the basic rubbish stuff that achieves NOTHING. When i thought i'd finally got through to someone who knew their stuff, i was just told the same things, in fact, he told me to phone back tomorrow and gave me a ticket number! Bah.

      So, in the last 2 weeks of the problem, things were sorta looking up? The internet would actually last a whole day before quitting out with the odd reset here and there. So i thought things were back to there old ways. Well, they weren't, and once again, im losing connection every 10-15 minutes, in-fact im surprised it hasnt cut out whilst im writing this. (EDIT - Ha! Jynxed myself, it just did, so i had to copy+paste this text and re-post it!)

      Attempts:
      Changed micro-filter.
      Run netstat with good results.
      Sky sent 'tone' down the line.
      Line 'cleared up' by Sky down the phone (Wtf is that?).
      Reset router.
      Ran virus scans/Spyware scans.
      Sky said the line looked 'ok' from their end.

      We got 3 PC's on the Network, only 2 are connected right now. There's my computer, and my dads. Could it be something to do with my old mans computer, because yesterday it was fine all day until about 7PM when he got in from work and booted up his PC. It didn't immediately cut out, but about 10 minutes after. Then it goes back to its 10-15 minute intervals. However, it does seem to get worse (in terms of cut outs) in the evenings, so it might just be coincidence. I also thought that perhaps something to do with the IP address' of the PC's? Maybe a conflict, causing it to throw us all of the connection?

      I think its something to do with the router, but there are no issues with the configuration, and they've been reset and reconfigured again. We've only been with Sky for about 6 months so the router isn't old. Could it be dead? Meh i dunno.

      I am just at my wits end, its been hell with the internet for the last 6 weeks, i just want a consistent connection and would appreciate all the help to getting this sorted! The internet had been great up till the last 4 weeks, with only a router reset every few days or so.

      Thanks a lot we appreciate any help.
      Last edited by D_TOX; 10-01-08 at 11:57 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Intermittent cutouts! At my wits end...

      do you have (in network connections in control panel) an icon saying internet gateway? if so, you need to turn off UPnP in the router as this s known to cause drops every 10-15 mins...also, posting your router stats would help too, see my sig on how to do this...

      also, as you have an old white router, why don't you get the username/password and use another router?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      D_TOX's Avatar
      D_TOX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent cutouts! At my wits end...

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      do you have (in network connections in control panel) an icon saying internet gateway? if so, you need to turn off UPnP in the router as this s known to cause drops every 10-15 mins...also, posting your router stats would help too, see my sig on how to do this...

      also, as you have an old white router, why don't you get the username/password and use another router?
      UPnP has a 'tick' next to Turn UPnP on, so im assuming that means it on. So you think i should turn it off?

      Also, i haven't tried a new router yet since the one im using now isn't that old - we got it when we went with Sky, like 5-6 months ago.

      Here are my stats mate, hope this helps. Thanks for your reply.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 224 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5504 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.3 13.0
      Attn(dB): 39.0 25.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 11.8
      Max(Kbps): 6080 480
      Rate (Kbps): 5504 224
      G.dmt framing
      K: 173(0) 8
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 173 8
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0919 17.7777
      L: 1392 72
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 6997 6995
      SFErr: 479 0
      RS: 475838 29728
      RSCorr: 286998 0
      RSUnCorr: 2389 0

      HEC: 384 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1543228 0
      Data Cells: 21877 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 55 0
      SES: 55 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 2 min 26 sec
      SF = 6997
      CRC = 479
      LOS = 930
      LOF = 0
      ES = 55
      Latest 1 day time = 2 min 26 sec
      SF = 6997
      CRC = 479
      LOS = 930
      LOF = 0
      ES = 55
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 26 sec
      SF = 6997
      CRC = 479
      LOS = 930
      LOF = 0
      ES = 55
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    5. #4
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Intermittent cutouts! At my wits end...

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      also, as you have an old white router, why don't you get the username/password and use another router?
      My goodness! You've changed your tune!

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Intermittent cutouts! At my wits end...

      thats cause it was already done before i came on here - the new ones have only been out a couple of months so how can people be annoyed with them already??

      my take on it is that the advanced users on here dont seem to have issues with them - just the n00bs....

      just thought as its already easy and you don't have to flash the old one that its not an issue - the fact you have to flash the new ones just to get it is my gripe...cause if you muck it up you're screwed!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      D_TOX's Avatar
      D_TOX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent cutouts! At my wits end...

      Quote Originally Posted by moleman View Post
      My goodness! You've changed your tune!
      Thanks for hijacking my thread.

      Come on guys, this is my last hope. I'd rather you two didn't squabble and helped me.

    8. #7
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Intermittent cutouts! At my wits end...

      You have a very noisy line there, I think you need to try your test socket to see if it’s at your end or not. See HERE. You do have filters on all the devices on your extensions including your sky box don't you?

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Intermittent cutouts! At my wits end...

      well, you're not on Base - so change your profile!!

      ummm...firstly, turn off UPnP and see if that helps...

      also, are you running in your master/test socket as errors are quite high even though the stats are from a very short period of time...

      EDIT: moleman, you missed the link on the HERE...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Intermittent cutouts! At my wits end...

      ^^^^^^^^^^
      Corrected now!

    11. #10
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Intermittent cutouts! At my wits end...

      first link in my sig will show test socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION