Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Windows Vista And Sky Broadband.

    This is a discussion on Windows Vista And Sky Broadband. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Sky users Wondering if once again you could help me with your wonderful computing and ISP related expertees, on ...

    1. #1
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Windows Vista And Sky Broadband.

      Hi Sky users

      Wondering if once again you could help me with your wonderful computing and ISP related expertees, on the lookout for a laptop and don't particularly want to spend that much.

      Found this one which I thought was a very good spec for the price, but then again I'm no computer wizard.

      Main PC is currently running XP Home so there's a few questions I'd love answering...

      Is it possible to create a connection (home network, LAN) whatever you want to call it between XP Home and a Vista PC?

      Does the laptop that I'm going to link you too support the Sky router, do most laptops with built in wireless support the Sky router?

      I'm right in thinking the Sky BB router (V1) - the white one?, is that Wireless-G?

      Does the specification of this PC:

      Currys - Shop for Laptops - PHILIPS 15NB5700 LAPTOP FOR THE HOME AND OFFICE

      Have a good enough spec to run Windows Vista comfortably?

      I'd heard about some insane specs needed to run Windows Vista and the AERO service, would that spec successfully, and efficiently run this service,

      And basically, any news about what I should be looking for in my specification when looking for a new laptop would be great, really need to buy one in the next few weeks and can't really justify spending more than 450 on one.

      From users using Vista, how does it perform?, is the model I've seen going to be comfortably running Vista or not?

      Any help would be great.




      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      -Paul's Avatar
      -Paul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Parkstone
      Broadband ISP: Freesat
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Humax HDR + 42"
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Poole, Dorset
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows Vista And Sky Broadband.

      Hi,
      Well I have a Toshiba Satellite Laptop running Windows Vista and connects to my White Sky router wirelessly, plus I can share files and see other PC's running XP on the Lan too, I can play a video stored on an the upstairs PC and watch it on my Vista Laptop in the downstairs Lounge, using the Wireless, Vista is more secure, better built-in Firewall, Vista will run on most Laptops between 1.4 - 1.6 mhz, but is resource hungry, lots of updates are out for Vista, so expect a mega update when you fire up your new Laptop
      Enjoy
      Paul

    4. #3
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows Vista And Sky Broadband.

      Paul, without being nosey, what is the spec. for your laptop, and where did you pick it up?

      How does it handle Vista ?

      Thanks.

    5. #4
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Windows Vista And Sky Broadband.

      Be very careful when picking laptops, there are some very cheap "Vista" compatable ones that will run Vista like a glacier.

      My Wife has a Dell laptop with an AMD Dual core processor and 1 gig of memory and I would say that it is only acceptable performance for running vista.

      On the networking side of things I managed to home network up my XP computer and the Vista laptop, but you will need to configure any firewalls you are running on all the PC's to allow the home network traffic through.

    6. #5
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows Vista And Sky Broadband.

      OK so the specification that I'm looking to buy is around about these specs:

      Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T5250
      # (1.50 GHz, 667 MHz FSB, 2 MB Cache)

      2GB Memory (RAM)

      160GB Hard-Drive

      Wireless a/b/g compatible.

      Vista Home Premium

      DVD Rewriter Dual Layer

      15.4" Widescreen Brightview Screen.

      How do you guys think this will handle Vista Home Premium and some of the more advanced features such as; Aero.
      Last edited by gill07; 10-01-08 at 09:06 PM.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Windows Vista And Sky Broadband.

      is that the one on offer? if so, they're not bad at all...

      the memory/processor/HD are fine - its the graphics card on it that'll determine aero or not...its not actually that great, just looks pretty - lol

      i like Vista, a few issues with certain software (but its hobby specific and shouldn't put anyone off)...hate going back to XP now!!
      Last edited by IWasNotTheEnemy; 11-01-08 at 12:41 AM.
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Windows Vista And Sky Broadband.

      Trouble with Vista is that it's the Marmite of OS's. My wife loves it (apart from it's performance at times) but I hate it with a passion (cos I always have to fix all the issues I am having with her laptop, especially with Office Ultimate 07).

      Dixons (who own PC World) have said Vista is the reason why so many PC's have been returned to them last year and the reason why they have failed to make any money and Dell have agreed that people can downgrade back to XP and still keep any warrenties valid on the PC's.

      Even when XP launched there wasn't this much bad feeling about it just annoyance at driver issues.

    9. #8
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Windows Vista And Sky Broadband.

      Just one spot of advice you might want to see a laptop with a higher clock speed the one stated it 1.5ghz. Might want to see the 1.8ghz-2.2ghz range for a better overall performance in vista.

    10. #9
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Windows Vista And Sky Broadband.

      found this a tad quicker with 2GB ram 427 great value IMO.
      Currys - Shop for Laptops - COMPAQ V6630EM LAPTOP FOR THE HOME AND OFFICE

    11. #10
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows Vista And Sky Broadband.

      I take it this is now two processors running at 1.9Ghz each instead of the one I said which was two processors running at 1.5?

      This would result in a much better system yes?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION