Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Broadband Max line keeps dropping out

    This is a discussion on Broadband Max line keeps dropping out within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My line drops out every 5 minutes or so. This has been going on for weeks and Sky have reconfigured ...

    1. #1
      scarbo's Avatar
      scarbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband Max line keeps dropping out

      My line drops out every 5 minutes or so. This has been going on for weeks and Sky have reconfigured my line and dropped the bandwidth from 16Mb to 8Mb in an effort to stabilise the line. Frustratingly to no avail. They are sending a new router but I suspect this will not resolve the problem. I have connected a linksys router and experienced the same problem. I am not convinced it is a router problem (I have the white netgear routrer).

      Some info on my line:

      I am 800m from the exchange. I connect via ethernet:

      System Up Time 23:25:30
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1170 1202 0 657 2908 00:06:19
      LAN 10M/100M 67577 63448 0 743 167 23:25:28
      WLAN 11M/54M 36283 30580 0 445 38 23:25:18


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7776 kbps 736 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.0 db 12.0 db
      Noise Margin 13.9 db 13.0 db

      From reading other threads my noise margin seems ok. I have tested the master socket and the same problem exists. Have changed micro filter etc and done all other basic checks.

      Does anyone have any other bright ideas to help me identify the cause of this problem? I am at my wits end and thinking about moving to another supplier but I would ideally want to stay with Sky as the cost and bandwidth are unbeatable (although quality not quantity is best, great if you can get both!!)

      Scarbo


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Broadband Max line keeps dropping out

      are you wireless or wired ?

      if wireless have you tried turning the UPNP off (has been a problem for some, but as you have had the same problem with another router it may make no difference)

      also could you post your detailed stats (see second link in my sig)

      once posted we can have a little looksy

    4. #3
      scarbo's Avatar
      scarbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Max line keeps dropping out

      Thanks for replying. I am wired (the PC, not me!). Here are the detailed router stats having just downloaded the bounce sky router utility you suggested. The logs seem to reset when service is lost which makes sense I guess.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 736 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7776 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 13.8 14.0
      Attn(dB): 15.0 12.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.0
      Max(Kbps): 10080 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 7776 736
      G.dmt framing
      K: 244(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 244 24
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 1.0408 8.6400
      L: 1960 200
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 23406 23404
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 1591612 198934
      RSCorr: 0 2
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 7307034 0
      Data Cells: 102865 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 7 min 7 sec
      SF = 23406
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 7 min 7 sec
      SF = 23406
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 7 sec
      SF = 23406
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Means little to me but would be glad of your expert opinion!

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Broadband Max line keeps dropping out

      SNR (dB): 13.8 14.0
      Attn(dB): 15.0 12.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.0
      Max(Kbps): 10080 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 7776 736
      stats look good to me !

      would normaly ask you to to do a comparison set of stats from the test socket (if you have one, see first link in my sig)
      but the other thing to do first is open the router, scroll down to the bottom and open the show statistics, this should open a window which shows connection/attenuation/noise margin. if you keep this open when using the the internet keep an eye on the noise margin to see if it is dropping

      i haqve not used the bounce utility, does it give you any sort of error report ?

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Broadband Max line keeps dropping out

      Routerstats Lite can give you a graphical representation of your SNR across your connection time so you can tell if that is the issue
      Routerstats and Routerstats Lite (programs)

    7. #6
      scarbo's Avatar
      scarbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Max line keeps dropping out

      Stats from RouterStats Lite attached showing line dropping out when there is no user activity. Does this indicate anything as far as the SNR etc?

      Thanks for your help thus far.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Broadband Max line keeps dropping out-noisemargin-2008jan10-0659.jpg  

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Broadband Max line keeps dropping out

      looks like masive noise margin drops causing the drop outs (if i am reading the chart right)
      the problem could any number of things (street lights / central heating / ect )
      you could keep the programm running and see if there is a pattern of when this happens to see if it is at the same times.

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Broadband Max line keeps dropping out

      I take it you are on the master socket with a filter attached as the first item on the line? Any other sockets in the house with equipment plugged in?

    10. #9
      scarbo's Avatar
      scarbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Max line keeps dropping out

      Hi Jessie-Lou,

      I am connected to the master socket and no other extensions that would interfere. I have the same set up as my previous broadband supplier (pipex) and never experienced such drop outs. I will monitor more. How would central heating affect? What else can I explore?

      Thanks for your time thus far. You are a star!

    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Broadband Max line keeps dropping out

      Erm it's Paul and central heating can interfer as the pump on the pipes can cause interference (strange but can happen).
      So there are no extensions (wired or cable plugged into socket) at all? Is there a filter directly plugged into the socket and is anything else connected to the line?
      Does your main socket have a physical split going left to right just above the 2 screws holding it to the wall?
      If you have tested a 3rd party router and get the same results then it's either a line issue or exchange fault but I would wait on the new router just in case. Is it a BT line?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION