Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30

    JUst got connected to Connect but very sloooow

    This is a discussion on JUst got connected to Connect but very sloooow within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by PaulSky I dunno.... some people it gets worse i just re-read his post and it only said ...

    1. #21
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: JUst got connected to Connect but very sloooow

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      I dunno.... some people

      it gets worse i just re-read his post and it only said "got to the 10th", sorry again to Paul and OP for the wrong info i posted


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      dave76's Avatar
      dave76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Saddleworth
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: JUst got connected to Connect but very sloooow

      ha ha, sorry for causing any confusion with my dates guys

      Thanks for the link Paul, I have shot off a message to them explaining what I have done and hopefully they might help in a couple of days.

    4. #23
      bertaird's Avatar
      bertaird is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141880
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      barrhead
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: JUst got connected to Connect but very sloooow

      This might have answered my wuestion I was just about to post, altough I'm on mid (I think) my download/upload are both 288 kps and have been for 2 days altough officialy im not meant to be connected till today and live 1.5km from the exchange and my routers plugged into my test socket which has just been installed
      hopefully its just a test signal just now or a 10 day training period
      if its not I'll be back for help

    5. #24
      dave76's Avatar
      dave76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Saddleworth
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: JUst got connected to Connect but very sloooow

      My latest stats - almost identical to the first lot...

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 288 Kbps, Downstream rate = 288 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 30.3 29.0
      Attn(dB): 16.0 9.5
      Pwr(dBm): 4.7 11.6
      Max(Kbps): 11168 1136
      Rate (Kbps): 288 288
      G.dmt framing
      K: 10(0) 10
      R: 0 0
      S: 1 1
      D: 1 1
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 10 10
      M: 1 1
      T: 1 1
      R: 0 0
      S: 1.0000 1.0000
      L: 88 88
      D: 1 1
      Counters
      SF: 8847851 8847849
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 0 0
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 102167746 0
      Data Cells: 808253 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 13 0
      Total time = 1 days 17 hours 47 min 11 sec
      SF = 8847851
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 17 hours 47 min 11 sec
      SF = 3766530
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 11 sec
      SF = 7763
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5081321
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    6. #25
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: JUst got connected to Connect but very sloooow

      it would seem BT have put the wrong product on your line - you need to get Sky to cease & reprovide it to the right ADSLMax product...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #26
      dave76's Avatar
      dave76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Saddleworth
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: JUst got connected to Connect but very sloooow

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      You could try using the contact us link on Sky.com - Sky Help Centre;tg&Contact Us>Feedback - General Enquiry
      and just tell them that your router was plugged in too early on the line and now has the wrong config on it, can they reset it.
      Just for your info - I used this link the other day and I just got a mail saying

      To ensure your enquiry is directed to the correct team, we have made some changes to our e-mail support. We need you to re-submit your message via our website, using a webform which you can access from this link: http://www.sky.com/portal/site/skycom/kana.

      Once you have submitted the Web Form, we'll get back to you as quickly as possible. (Your original message will not have been received)

    8. #27
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: JUst got connected to Connect but very sloooow

      Bugger me, they must have changed it within the last month or so as I used that link to get my speed capped to stabilise my line. Good ol sky not telling us anything.

    9. #28
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: JUst got connected to Connect but very sloooow

      I agree with IANTE, I'd bet ca$h on you having been put on the wrong product bt BT. God only knows wht they do it, but it usually means the line has to be ceased then provided agin fresh.
      Try to speak with someone in provisioning/order status, they'll have the tols to see you're on the wrong package, Tier 1 won't, plus it's not really a technical issue.

    10. #29
      dave76's Avatar
      dave76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Saddleworth
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: JUst got connected to Connect but very sloooow

      Ooh, I got a reply from sky, after telling them the problem with the router syncing at such a slow speed - this is the reply (it would have been a start to specify there are instructions for mac and pc! Neither help with a low sync speed though) I have emailed back with another explanation of my slow speed, cant call for a while as I am at work


      Thank you for contacting Sky Broadband Technical Support.

      If you have more than one computer connected simultaneously to your Sky Broadband Box then your connection may appear slow due to your bandwidth being shared between multiple computers.
      If only 1 computer is connected your connecting may be slowed by the information saved on your computer that is not essential. To remove this information:-
      Open Safari
      Select Safari in tool bar
      Reset Safari
      Confirm
      If this is not the case, then when your speed appears to drop, please use the following steps to determine what your router is receiving
      Open up a new browser
      Type 192.168.0.1 into the address bar
      The username is admin
      The password is sky
      At the bottom of this page click on Show Statistics
      In the new pop-up screen it will show you your current connection speed. It will be labelled Downstream Speed
      This speed is displayed in kbps (e.g. 7648kbps approximately equates to 7.6Mbps)
      This will display what speed you are connected at. If you feel this speed is a lot higher than you believe your connection to be running at, then I would recommend you do the following:-
      From the desk top select Hard Drive
      Select Applications
      Utilities
      Network Utility
      Choose Interface from drop down ( EN1 – wireless, EN0 – Ethernet)
      Select the Netstat tab
      Place a dot in Display the state of all current socket connections
      Count how many open connections are running
      If there are more than ten established/active connections the programs running on your computer are using up bandwidth and slowing the apparent connection speed. Use your anti-virus software to ‘scan & clean' your Mac to resolve this issue. If you do not have anti-virus software installed, you can install the 12 month free McAfee Virex anti-virus software from your Broadband installation CD.
      If you are unaware of any programmes using your bandwidth and the ‘scan & clean' facility does not improve speed then this may be spyware or virus related issue.


      If you have more than one computer connected simultaneously to your Sky Broadband Box then your connection may appear slow due to your bandwidth being shared between multiple computers.

      If only 1 computer is connected your connecting may be slowed by the information saved on your computer that is not essential. To remove this information:-
      Open up a new browser window
      Click on Tools and select Internet Options
      Click on the Delete Cookies button and click Ok to delete all cookies.
      Click on Delete Files, place a tick in the box to delete all offline content, then click Ok
      Click on the Clear History button then click Yes
      If this is not the case, then when your speed appears to drop, please use the following steps to determine what speed you are connecting at :-
      Open up a new browser window
      Type 192.168.0.1 into the address bar
      The username is admin
      The password is sky
      Click on the Show Statistics button at the bottom of the page
      In the new pop-up screen it will show you your current connection speed. It will be labelled ‘downstream speed'.
      This speed is displayed in kbps. (e.g. 7648kbps approximately equates to 7.6Mbps)
      This will show you what speed you are connected at. If you feel this speed is a lot higher than you believe your connection to be running at, then I would recommend you do the following:
      Click on the Start button
      Then select Run
      Now type cmd and click ok
      In the new box that appears please type netstat after the C;> prompt, then press Enter
      Now count how many lines of information appear which start with TCP
      If this is more than ten then I would advise you run some anti-virus and Spyware checks on your system, as you may have Spyware programs inadvertently installed on your PC.

      I trust this helps however should yo u continue to experience technical difficulties, please reply to this email or call us on 08705 515 515. Lines are open 24 hours a day.

    11. #30
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: JUst got connected to Connect but very sloooow

      I think you can ignore that quite safely.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION