Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Got connected to MAX today here's my stats, Not on ADSL2+?

    This is a discussion on Got connected to MAX today here's my stats, Not on ADSL2+? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps Line Attenuation 26.0 db 14.5 db Noise Margin 12.1 db ...

    1. #1
      wilt's Avatar
      wilt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtownards
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face Got connected to MAX today here's my stats, Not on ADSL2+?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.0 db 14.5 db
      Noise Margin 12.1 db 13.0 db

      Tried speedtest results
      Download Speed: 6952 kbps (869 KB/sec ) Upload Speed: 640 kbps (80 KB/sec )


      How do i go about getting the 16Mb? or will it change itself?
      Will i need to keep rebooting the router?
      Last edited by wilt; 07-01-08 at 06:34 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Got connected to MAX today here's my stats, Not on ADSL2+?

      It looks like you have been capped at a downspeed of 8096kbps.

      This is probably due to errors on your line. With your attenuation, if you sort these and get uncapped, you should expect a much better speed.

      What colour is your router?

      If it is white, please follow these instructions to post your detailed stats from mognuts utility:

      1. Go to the utility web site: Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.3
      2. Click the “Get” detailed modem stats button and click “OK”.
      3. Enter the router login user name and password.
      4. At the next screen, click the back button on your browser.
      5. Click the “Download” netgear.cfg button.
      6. What you do next depends on your operating system. On Windows XP, click the “Save” button to save the file to your hard disk. (If you click “Open”, you may find that the file association is one that doesn’t handle carriage returns the same way as the router, hence the reason for saying “Save”.)
      7. Open the file in WordPad (not notepad).
      8. Copy and paste them into here.

      If your router is not white please tell me otherwise

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Got connected to MAX today here's my stats, Not on ADSL2+?

      ^ that won't work as he'll have a V2 router but yeah - you're on gdmt...

      give sky a buzz and if you can get to cst they'll change it for you to adsl2+
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Got connected to MAX today here's my stats, Not on ADSL2+?

      Wasn't sure when he started his contract, thought it was worth mentioning on the off chance

    6. #5
      wilt's Avatar
      wilt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtownards
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Got connected to MAX today here's my stats, Not on ADSL2+?

      cst?
      if changed will it show right away in speed increase?
      on phone now WAITING !!

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Got connected to MAX today here's my stats, Not on ADSL2+?

      Bit early in the evening to get put through to CST but you might be lucky. After 10:30 would be better.

      When you get through to Sky T1 report slow speeds and go through the troubleshooting and then they'll put you through to CST. Don't discuss ADSL modes etc with T1 as you'll probably just get fobbed off.

      And yes, if CST make changes you'll see them straight away.
      Last edited by Saturday; 07-01-08 at 08:38 PM.

    8. #7
      wilt's Avatar
      wilt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtownards
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Got connected to MAX today here's my stats, Not on ADSL2+?

      got put on cst hold system, but taking ages to get through.

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Got connected to MAX today here's my stats, Not on ADSL2+?

      2200 or later is better to past the queues to CST, if you have a ticket ref then you can call back anytime and ask to be put through.

    10. #9
      wilt's Avatar
      wilt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtownards
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Got connected to MAX today here's my stats, Not on ADSL2+?

      Finally got through.
      Set my speed to 14332 but speed test shows

    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Got connected to MAX today here's my stats, Not on ADSL2+?

      Speedtests are only reliable if you use a local server and no one else is using it when you are. Server load at their end can give a slow speed report. Try the speed test again at differing times of the day.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION