Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Different Router ?

    This is a discussion on Different Router ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey everybody im Tom, (a.k.a Hurston2510) im new to these forums and i hope to be an active user of ...

    1. #1
      hurston2510's Avatar
      hurston2510 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Redruth
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Different Router ?

      Hey everybody im Tom, (a.k.a Hurston2510) im new to these forums and i hope to be an active user of them,

      Just a quick question,

      I've just got my Sky Max 16MB BB and i'm currently using the Router supplied, i would like to use my old router due to it costing a lot of money and its better then the one supplied with sky,

      My router is a belkin router that supports 1GBPS over lan and 125mb wireless, and i would like to use this, but i have heard that i cannot get mym User name and Password off the old one i would like s ome help please

      Hurston2510,


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Different Router ?

      Black or white Sky router? If it's black/ dark grey you cannot get the info yet.

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Different Router ?

      is there no way you could connect the 2 ? (maybey with ethernet cable), not sure what you would need to turn on/of in the settings

    5. #4
      hurston2510's Avatar
      hurston2510 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Redruth
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Different Router ?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Black or white Sky router? If it's black/ dark grey you cannot get the info yet.
      Its the Grey one, *sighs*

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      is there no way you could connect the 2 ? (maybey with ethernet cable), not sure what you would need to turn on/of in the settings
      And yeah i could, but it would work the way i wanted it too

      Hurston2510,

    6. #5
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Different Router ?

      Quote Originally Posted by hurston2510 View Post
      And yeah i could, but it would work the way i wanted it too
      Why would it not?

      Other than port forwarding and the usual config etc, what you could do is set the IP of theBskyB one to 192.168.0.1 (or a range of your choice). Then set the belkin to be a dhcp server but to start from 192.168.0.2 making sure they both use the same subnet.
      Thank simply run and connect all your systems through the belkin...
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

    7. #6
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Different Router ?

      Quote Originally Posted by HSNetwork View Post
      Why would it not?

      Other than port forwarding and the usual config etc, what you could do is set the IP of theBskyB one to 192.168.0.1 (or a range of your choice). Then set the belkin to be a dhcp server but to start from 192.168.0.2 making sure they both use the same subnet.
      Thank simply run and connect all your systems through the belkin...
      Hmm, you don't want the Belkin to be doing DHCP because it'll tell the PCs that it is the default gateway (as it would be, if it were plugged into the phone system).

      You need to change the DHCP range on the Sky router to free up an address (for example, change the start address from 192.168.0.2 to 192.168.0.3, thus freeing up 192.168.0.2), assign that address to the Belkin router, disable DHCP on the Belkin router and disable wireless access point on the Sky router.

      That would give you Gigabit connectivity between wired PCs and 125Mbit wireless networking, with the Sky router handling DHCP and broadband access.

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Different Router ?

      ^^ mabey setting that sort of thing may help others (not sure if a guide could be set up)

    9. #8
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Different Router ?

      Hmm,

      I know that in my router (D-Link) I can set the Primary DNS Server (D-Links way of saying name a Gateway). But whether this is possible in other routers I dont know. Granted it makes no odds if you have the BskyB router doing the DHCP or the Belkin other than using the BskyB would be a preferred setup.
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

    10. #9
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Different Router ?

      Primary DNS server is the IP address of the device which translates domain names into IP addresses (e.g. www.skyuser.co.uk -> 77.240.11.57), whereas the default gateway is the IP address of the device which your PC has to communicate with to get to the outside world. These are very different things.

    11. #10
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Different Router ?

      James,

      Im not trying to say that gateway and DNS are the same thing. What I am trying to say however though is that when in the past I did have this D-Link router setup behind another router I did have it set to DHCP server and it worked as it should.
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION