Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    alterations to internal wiring complete (I hope)

    This is a discussion on alterations to internal wiring complete (I hope) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi again...... following advice - after asking questions I have now adjusted all the internal wiring i can find.... 7 ...

    1. #1
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      alterations to internal wiring complete (I hope)

      Hi again......

      following advice - after asking questions

      I have now adjusted all the internal wiring i can find....

      7 connections are now 2!!!!!!!!!

      I have had BT install a master socket (in loft) and plugged a filter into it
      I have changed the face plate in my office (hard wired to master) to a "PHILEX" ADSL split plate
      I have one other extension (with new face plate) downstairs for my SKY BOX - with a filter

      So......

      1 How long should I wait before taking (and posting) stats?
      2 Would you advise leaving Modem permanantly switched on? or can I switch off with PC?
      3 Should lights on modem be flashing constantly?
      Cheers Guys!!!!
      Last edited by Lymmranger; 06-01-08 at 02:12 PM. Reason: forgot to ask q3!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      -Paul's Avatar
      -Paul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Parkstone
      Broadband ISP: Freesat
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Humax HDR + 42"
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Poole, Dorset
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: alterations to internal wiring complete (I hope)

      Hi Lymmranger
      I switch my router off at night and when I am at work, and when we play LAN games I unplug the Router from the Phone socket, so there is no Internet coming in - no hackers! then when done, we just plug it back in and the Router fires up straight away. I have just fitted a Frontplate 2000 to my router and my speed has gone up from 770k to 2.3 Meg, ( I live far from the Telephone Exchange) also you don't need filters on phones or Sky boxes as the Frontplate 2000 does that.
      Paul

    4. #3
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: alterations to internal wiring complete (I hope)

      ok cheers...
      I am happier switching it off when not in use
      Any word on the flashing ?
      And how long before I can redo my stats ?

    5. #4
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: alterations to internal wiring complete (I hope)

      Quote Originally Posted by Lymmranger View Post
      ok cheers...
      I am happier switching it off when not in use
      Any word on the flashing ?
      And how long before I can redo my stats ?
      Which LED's are flashing? Firstly if one is the wireless LED and you are not using it then switch off wireless access - so no one else does!

      The internet and ethernet LED's flash when data is passing between the PC and the web.

      I would suggest leaving the router for 24 hours before posting stats.

    6. #5
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: alterations to internal wiring complete (I hope)

      Wireless already off...
      Other LED`s are flashing/behaving as you say (therefore correctly?)
      will leave on and post stats tommorrow night

      Thankyou

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: alterations to internal wiring complete (I hope)

      this may not make a difference (but it may), if you are on connect you will be on the reranded BT service which is rate adaptive (i'm not sure on the correct term), and from what i have read about this it constantly checks your line to give you the most stable speed for your conditions, if you are always turning the router off i'm not sure how this would be affected, hopefully someone can comment (and correct me)
      also if do not use wireless and have it switched off, there is no real reason to turn of the router (they are made to be left on anyway)

    8. #7
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: alterations to internal wiring complete (I hope)

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      there is no real reason to turn of the router (they are made to be left on anyway)
      I agree. It probably does more harm than good to keep powering them down. Also, when Sky do finally release the reported new firmware, the router will need to be on in order to upgrade.

    9. #8
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: alterations to internal wiring complete (I hope)

      When the router is powered up, it checks to see if there is a firmware upgrade available, and if there is, it'll download it. (It also checks periodically while it's switched on too). There's no need to worry about missing the firmware update.

      However, the router is more likely to fail if it is regularly power cycled, because of the mechanical stress of components heating up and cooling down on a regular basis. The router draws 6 watts, so it's not really an ecological disaster zone - certainly not compared to Sky's TV boxes, which draw quite a lot of power when in standby. From the ecological point of view, it would be a balance between the environmental cost of keeping the router on 24 hours a day, and the environmental cost of building extra routers as a result of premature component failure.

    10. #9
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: alterations to internal wiring complete (I hope)

      just taken stats....

      any comments?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7328 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 5.8 18.0
      Attn(dB): 36.0 20.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 7360 932
      Rate (Kbps): 7328 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 230(0) 15
      R: 0 0
      S: 1 1
      D: 1 1
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 230 15
      M: 1 1
      T: 1 1
      R: 0 0
      S: 1.0000 1.0000
      L: 1848 128
      D: 1 1
      Counters
      SF: 5348502 5348500
      SFErr: 91090 2
      RS: 0 0
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 50390 2
      OCD: 10 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1571310792 0
      Data Cells: 123095 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 6085 0
      SES: 1635 0
      UAS: 13 0
      Total time = 1 days 1 hours 15 min 42 sec
      SF = 5348502
      CRC = 91090
      LOS = 8
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6085
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 15 min 42 sec
      SF = 267240
      CRC = 616
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 132
      Latest 15 minutes time = 42 sec
      SF = 2529
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 16
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 15
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5081262
      CRC = 90474
      LOS = 8
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5953
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 9
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 9
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 20
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14

    11. #10
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: alterations to internal wiring complete (I hope)

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      When the router is powered up, it checks to see if there is a firmware upgrade available, and if there is, it'll download it. (It also checks periodically while it's switched on too). There's no need to worry about missing the firmware update.

      However, the router is more likely to fail if it is regularly power cycled, because of the mechanical stress of components heating up and cooling down on a regular basis. The router draws 6 watts, so it's not really an ecological disaster zone - certainly not compared to Sky's TV boxes, which draw quite a lot of power when in standby. From the ecological point of view, it would be a balance between the environmental cost of keeping the router on 24 hours a day, and the environmental cost of building extra routers as a result of premature component failure.
      I will rearrange my supply to router to keep it always on from now on!

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION