Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    LLU Mac Code ?

    This is a discussion on LLU Mac Code ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I was wondering if anyone could advise on LLU Mac code. I am currently with Wanadoo Orange (terrible connections, ...

    1. #1
      minnie123's Avatar
      minnie123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      LLU Mac Code ?

      Hi,

      I was wondering if anyone could advise on LLU Mac code.

      I am currently with Wanadoo Orange (terrible connections, can't wait to cease service with them) and would like to move over to Sky (I am a sky customer and have had email from them yesterday that to join their service I need to provide a MAC code.

      I have contacted Orange who state I am a LLU MAc code and that most broadband providers do not accept these. I have tried to telephone Sky for advice on a few occasions, but held in a queue for over 20 minutes.

      Does anyone now if it will be straight forward moving over to Sky once I have my LLU Mac code ? or will it be less stressful and easier to Cancel with Wanadoo and wait a week or so for my line to clear (and use dial up in between)

      Any advice would be very much appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi minnie and welcome to skyuser.co.uk

      I have moved your post to the broadband forum, so it gets noticed




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Sky don't accept LLU mac codes, but there are people saying you can migrate to Zen for a month and they'll put you on IPStream, then you can re-migrate to Sky using a MAC from Zen. If not, then you should cancel your wanadoo account, BUT not before you have a BAND code from Sky. Otherwise you could be stuck without broadband for as long as it takes Sky to give you a code.

      I cancelled my LLU ISP on the 4th of Sept, "fully" cancelled on the 8th and the line was cleared the same day. Was able to place an order and now I'm waiting for activation.

    5. #4
      addy's Avatar
      addy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi minnie

      Im in the same situation as you,i tried to give sky a LLU Mac from Orange but there system wouldnt accept it.The only option i have is to go through the painful process of cancelling orange and waiting while the line is clear before contacting sky.

      Paul

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Minnie

      You could try going down the road OhNoes suggested but I am not so sure it will work unless you live in an area that Zen have there equipment in the best thing to do is phone Zen and ask them.

      I think the most lightly out come will be the one addy suggests.

      What ever you do good luck.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If Zen put you onto their LLU it would defeat the purpose of switching, since you would most likely get another LLU mac once you leave

    8. #7
      minnie123's Avatar
      minnie123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks to everyone for their advice. It is very much appreciated.

      I think I will get a BAND code first from Sky as recommended by OhNoes and then cancel with Wanadoo orange. I don't think I have to give any notice to Wanadoo as I have been with them for 2 years.

      Thanks,

      Debbie

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Good luck with your order Debbie.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION