Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    speed and reboots

    This is a discussion on speed and reboots within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; had to reboot first thing in the morning then has been fine all day did the speed test 4.00pm 3.9mb ...

    1. #1
      smokie's Avatar
      smokie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      speed and reboots

      had to reboot first thing in the morning then has been fine all day
      did the speed test
      4.00pm 3.9mb

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4641 kbps 757 kbps
      Line Attenuation 58.0 db 37.4 db
      Noise Margin 5.9 db 9.5 db

      then it gets to the 8.00pm and all downhill from then

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3849 kbps 753 kbps
      Line Attenuation 58.0 db 37.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 9.5 db

      have tried the test socket and changed the filters around still the same
      i would have thought if it was due to more people on in the evenings being a saturday would have the same effect ie people at home


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tadunne's Avatar
      tadunne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm getting LCP down even tho the connection stats are fine.. I think it must be skys servers not coping very well..

    4. #3
      bvarsani's Avatar
      bvarsani is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Reboot Reboot Reboot. I spend more time rebooting my router nowadays then I spend doing anything else. What good is high speed internet when you can't use it. It's like having a really fast boat that sinks every 10 mins what good is that.

    5. #4
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Your connection will be slower in the evening for you, since it appears your noise margin raises at night (it usually falls in the evening for most people). A bigger margin means a slower line, especially on a high attenuation line like yours.

    6. #5
      smokie's Avatar
      smokie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      why

      ok so why should it go higher at night and can i do anything about it
      but at the end of the day i can live with the loss of speed its not a vast amount

      its the keep rebooting which is the pain

    7. #6
      bvarsani's Avatar
      bvarsani is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I agree with you.

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @smokie
      If this is a regular thing as you seem to be saying then there could be some source of interference that is causing it, is there anything that turns on around you at about 8pm street lights maybe?
      Last edited by Wheelie; 17-09-06 at 10:42 AM. Reason: My spelling is getting worse
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #8
      firestorm_westy's Avatar
      firestorm_westy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bedford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bedford, UK
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router issue?

      I have exactly the same issue - Great, fast connection, which then drops from 12,530 to less than 300 (!) for no apparent reason.

      I came off of the phone from Sky at midnight last night, and they have passed the issue to Tier 3 support - They also explained that they had not heard of the issue before (have you guys reported the problem?)

      If the connection speed is fine, perhaps the issue is with the router, as resetting this seems to solve the issue for a short period of time?

      I will let you know what they say when Tier 3 support call back.

      Paul

    10. #9
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      re: had not heard of the issue before

      I find that hard to beleive. In order to get my connection to work, i have to turn off UPnP and watch my connection gradually deteriote speed wise throughout the day until a reboot is required. - about every 2 hours probably. If i use a different router i connect in the morning - it stays at its sync speed all day long and i have no problems whatsoever. Therefore it cannot be the line, cannot be interfeence on anything else. the only thing it can be is the router they sent me. i am not alone in this issue and i find it annoying when sky blame everything else but their system/hardware.

      well done for getting it raised with tier3 - i look forward to their response.

      all is certainly not well with this system - for a system that is supposed to be foolproof , ie you plug it in and go, why are their support lines so bogged down. i think it is becuase they have a major issue with their routers, i've tried 2 so far and nither work properly
      Last edited by dingdong; 17-09-06 at 10:45 AM.

    11. #10
      smokie's Avatar
      smokie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      reboot

      i have done the normall and reported to customer sevices yes it is conected to the computer yes the light is on etc ect

      and they said they would pass to tier 3 that was two days ago still waiting
      for that call

      did a reboot this morning back up to speed

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION