Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Connection seems to drop/freeze but router fine?

    This is a discussion on Connection seems to drop/freeze but router fine? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all Been getting a problem since i moved to Sky over 4 months ago. The problem is constant and ...

    1. #1
      jimmyca69's Avatar
      jimmyca69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connection seems to drop/freeze but router fine?

      Hi all

      Been getting a problem since i moved to Sky over 4 months ago. The problem is constant and starting to get annoying.

      Basically my connection seems to freeze on me every now and again, webpages just crawl to a halt and no connections to new pages can be made.

      When i check the router info i still have IP so its not a drop of connection as such. I can navigate round the router stats fine and when i reboot router (via diagnostics - reboot) it connects up fine and internet is working fine until the next time. The occurances are adhoc with it happening sometimes 3 or 4 times a day, sometimes not at all.

      Im on SkyMax and below are my basic stats from the router info page. Im connected via an extension cable from main socket as router is upstairs directly connected to PC via NIC but ive had this connection/setup for my 3 previous ISP's - Plusnet and Aquiss and Vivacity (entanet). None of which had this problem. Ive been through the wiring etc when i moved in and done all the "fixes" so that 2 and 5 are connected etc so i dont think its the line setup in house.

      Infact with Vivacity i would sync at around 5800-6000kbps rather than the 3-4kbps i get with sky but im not too bothered just want a stable connection. God knows what someone who didnt know how to reboot router etc would do, they would be on phone to Sky all the time.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 146397 265357 0 1182 45150 02:20:54
      LAN 10M/100M 265370 147055 0 45529 1592 02:21:29
      WLAN 11M/54M 771 1270 0 11 4 02:21:19

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3392 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 12.0 db

      FYI i have tried flashing the router to use Netgear firmware rather than Sky's but i get the weird graphic problem where it skips the device list page so cant.

      Also uPnP is off as well.

      Any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connection seems to drop/freeze but router fine?

      remove the extention and use ethernet cable instead? without removing the extention it can't be seen if it's at fault?

      also, post your full stats not just basic...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      jimmyca69's Avatar
      jimmyca69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection seems to drop/freeze but router fine?

      im confused, the extension is the phone line extension not extension to the router

      The Router is simply plugged into the PC via a network lead to the NIC.

      Detailed stats, these ok?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3392 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.6 12.0
      Attn(dB): 59.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.1 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 3712 1056
      Rate (Kbps): 3392 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 107(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 107 25
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1481 8.6153
      L: 864 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 877525 877523
      SFErr: 57538 216
      RS: 29835880 7458945
      RSCorr: 4230900 1386
      RSUnCorr: 116161 0

      HEC: 52391 58
      OCD: 2 160
      LCD: 0 6
      Total Cells: 119195543 0
      Data Cells: 9474876 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 2369 0
      SES: 2228 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 4 hours 9 min 5 sec
      SF = 877525
      CRC = 57538
      LOS = 431
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2369
      Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 9 min 5 sec
      SF = 877525
      CRC = 57538
      LOS = 431
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2369
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 5 sec
      SF = 32052
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 12
      LOS = 19
      LOF = 0
      ES = 13
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 19
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 29
      LOS = 102
      LOF = 0
      ES = 27
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 7
      LOS = 18
      LOF = 0
      ES = 13

    5. #4
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Connection seems to drop/freeze but router fine?

      How far are you from the telephone exchange? You can check here. Your router stats suggest a line length of over 4 km which is pushing it a bit for speeds over 5 mbps.

    6. #5
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Connection seems to drop/freeze but router fine?

      you will need to do a comparison from your test socket (if you have one, see first link in my sig) i think you will see a great improvement (i know its a pain)

      you stats are showing a fair amount of errors

      (note: hard wired/cable telephone extentions do seem to become worse over time)

    7. #6
      jimmyca69's Avatar
      jimmyca69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection seems to drop/freeze but router fine?

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      you will need to do a comparison from your test socket (if you have one, see first link in my sig) i think you will see a great improvement (i know its a pain)

      you stats are showing a fair amount of errors

      (note: hard wired/cable telephone extentions do seem to become worse over time)
      ok tomorrow ill move PC to test from main socket (using point behind the faceplate yeah?) and get stats from that to compare

      thanks
      James

    8. #7
      jimmyca69's Avatar
      jimmyca69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection seems to drop/freeze but router fine?

      Quote Originally Posted by eyemdee View Post
      How far are you from the telephone exchange? You can check here. Your router stats suggest a line length of over 4 km which is pushing it a bit for speeds over 5 mbps.
      only 2.3km according to that

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connection seems to drop/freeze but router fine?

      thats 'as the crow flies' - it'll be longer than that probably...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION