Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Show me the speed

    This is a discussion on Show me the speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Happy New year folks. I have been a Sky Max customer for about 4 months. Great stability since I was ...

    1. #1
      lspight's Avatar
      lspight is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sketty
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Show me the speed

      Happy New year folks. I have been a Sky Max customer for about 4 months. Great stability since I was connected but I want more spped. I've been reading through the posts and have purchased/fitted a ADSL nation XTE2005 and shielded RJ11 cable. I'm using a Netgear DG834PN router. PC (XP) is connected to router via Ethernet. My MTU is set to 1500 on the router and main PC. I have run Dr.TCP as well. My downstream speed does not appear to be as quick as I would expect though and is about the same before the changes were made to the faceplate.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5696 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38.0 db 22.5 db
      Noise Margin 10.4 db 14.0 db

      If I connect the router directly to the master socket behind the faceplate my speed is about the same and noise margin drops only slightly. I havent contacted Sky yet as I want to rule out everything my end before approaching them. Whats the best method of logging a ticket with Sky phone or email? If the latter whats the link? Appreciate any guidance. Thx


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Show me the speed

      If your connection sync/margin is pretty much the same whether on your test socket or your new faceplate then everything's fine with your home phone wiring.

      Reboot your router. If the downstream noise margin is immediately above 6.9db then you are probably capped (if you posted your detailed stats this could be seen more clearly).

      Based on the stats you've posted, were your line relatively quiet (and you were uncapped) then you'd expect a sync of ~10,500kbps on ADSL2+ and 8096kbps on G.DMT which is probably what you're on. Your high noise margin may not account for all the shortfall and it could be that the line is a little noisy (again your detailed stats may confirm this). If it is noisy then the noise would appear to be arising on your BT line not your internal wiring.

      Call Sky and get uncapped, though if your line is noisy and generating errors this may cause connection/stability issues. Get past Sky T1 and through CST and the agent will be able to see the error level and (hopefully) will advise on the best sync speed and ADSL mode for your line condition.
      Last edited by Saturday; 01-01-08 at 07:12 PM.

    4. #3
      lspight's Avatar
      lspight is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sketty
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Show me the speed

      Detailed stats below. I rebooted the router and the noise was 9.0 then went up to 9.9/10.1 Am I on G.dmt and capped? Not sure how that can be determined from the results. I'm sure there is a post for this but havent found it yet.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5696 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 38.0 22.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 7.9
      Max(Kbps): 6368 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 5696 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 179(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 179 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0888 8.6153
      L: 1440 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 25523 25521
      SFErr: 811 0
      RS: 1735582 216928
      RSCorr: 792138 0
      RSUnCorr: 3896 0

      HEC: 592 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 5829664 0
      Data Cells: 1360 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 132 0
      SES: 132 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 7 min 42 sec
      SF = 25523
      CRC = 811
      LOS = 3212
      LOF = 0
      ES = 132
      Latest 1 day time = 7 min 42 sec
      SF = 25523
      CRC = 811
      LOS = 3212
      LOF = 0
      ES = 132
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 42 sec
      SF = 25523
      CRC = 811
      LOS = 3212
      LOF = 0
      ES = 132
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Show me the speed

      Quote Originally Posted by lspight View Post
      Am I on G.dmt and capped?
      Yes you are (slightly) - and with good reason. Actually, I'm surprised you've not been capped harder.

      Even though your router stats cover a very short period, your line errors appear very high.

      Don't waste your time calling Sky to get uncapped until you have sorted out your line problem. As said before, as you've fitted a quality replacement faceplate (and assuming it's fitted properly and you haven't challenged it with dodgy plug in extensions etc), the noise looks to be on your BT line.
      Last edited by Saturday; 01-01-08 at 08:49 PM.

    6. #5
      lspight's Avatar
      lspight is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sketty
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Show me the speed

      Thanks - Back to the drawing board. Is there a post that explains how to interpret the detailed stats? Might help me troubleshoot further. As I have said at the start, the connection has been very stable since day one. I do have one extension to my Sky HD box. The wiring is in the main socket for the extension and I used a proper IDC tool. I also have a BT REN booster Maplin > Telephone Extension Booster plugged into the main phone socket of the XTE2005. Although I have done this Ill, disconnect everything again and just have the one line going into the master socket. If there is still noise on the line then I can say for sure that itís a BT issue. Is that something BT could address?

      Obviously if I can interpret those detailed results, I can then be sure that I am making progress. Thanks again.

    7. #6
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Show me the speed

      ^^^ Sorry if I am missing something here but why do you have a REN booster on the line if you only have one extension for a Sky Box?

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Show me the speed

      REN boosters are generally not compatible with BB.

      If those errors are typical of your connection then I'm amazed your connection is "very stable".

      You'll find a description on errors that I put together in the Router stats forum sticky.
      Last edited by Saturday; 02-01-08 at 12:29 AM.

    9. #8
      lspight's Avatar
      lspight is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sketty
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Show me the speed

      I have a REN booster as I also connect a FAX machine to the line and the combined total exceeds 4. I also plan to have Sky multiroom in three other rooms in a matter of weeks.

      That said the REN booster is plugged into the phone socket of the XTE2005. The broadband should therefore be unaffected as thats plugged into the ADSL socket of the XTE2005. Unless you know otherwise.

      Yes my connection has been very stable. Thats why I am reluctant to call Sky as I want it to remain so until I can say that I have done everything possible to increase the speed my end. Only then will I call Sky.

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Show me the speed

      You are already capped. If you call them and they see those errors then all they'll do is cap you harder.

      Something in your wiring is introducing noise. That REN booster will be pumping an amplified signal into the phone circuit. Some are sold as BB compatible though I have my doubts. The REN booster is the best bet as the problem but it could be other things. You'll have to experiment and isolate the cause.

      Your filtered faceplate can only do so much.

    11. #10
      lspight's Avatar
      lspight is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sketty
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Show me the speed

      OK disconnected the REN booster rebooted the router and the noise is down slightly.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5632 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38.0 db 22.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.6 db 13.0 db

      Still donít know how to interpret the detailed results below. Is there a link that I can read up on this anywhere?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5632 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.7 14.0
      Attn(dB): 38.0 22.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 9.4
      Max(Kbps): 6240 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 5632 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 177(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 177 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0898 8.6153
      L: 1424 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 3468 3466
      SFErr: 37 0
      RS: 235888 29461
      RSCorr: 78799 0
      RSUnCorr: 239 0

      HEC: 30 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 784051 0
      Data Cells: 2329 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 27 0
      SES: 27 0
      UAS: 27 0
      Total time = 1 min 40 sec
      SF = 3468
      CRC = 37
      LOS = 467
      LOF = 0
      ES = 27
      Latest 1 day time = 1 min 40 sec
      SF = 3468
      CRC = 37
      LOS = 467
      LOF = 0
      ES = 27
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 40 sec
      SF = 3468
      CRC = 37
      LOS = 467
      LOF = 0
      ES = 27
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION