Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Practically no upload

    This is a discussion on Practically no upload within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I've been with sky broadband mid package for 2 or 3 months now and i'm still not happy. I've ...

    1. #1
      sith's Avatar
      sith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Practically no upload

      Hi,
      I've been with sky broadband mid package for 2 or 3 months now and i'm still not happy. I've called Sky about 4 times about my broadband connection and gotten the lovely techincal departments ticket number each time as the usual helper wasn't able to help and i had to be put through to the technical department. I never received the phone calls i was promised or any improvment to my internet connection apart from when i first joined Sky i waas getting the internet disconnecting every so often or not working at all but that seems to have improved. I still get slow webpages and sometimes get the 'page cannot be displayed' message, but normally a refresh sorts that out. My main bug bare and the reason for joining and posting here is the poor poor upload speed, if you can call it a speed, more like a stutter. I use uploading with torrents using the utorrent client, i use dc++ and also turbo lister for my ebay auctions and all 3 suffer, sometimes time out. My old connection was a usb modem 1.1 connection with orange and it was faster than what i'm getting from Sky which is suposed to be 8mb but i know my phone line can only manage about 5mb. I'm happy with the download speed and can put up with the webpage browsing but its the uploads that bug me. Sometimes the speed starts quite good but then gradually drops and drops and drops to nothing. I have forwarded ports and allowed firewall services, also in my pc's internet security it's all allowed. I get a green light on the port with utorrent, with dc++ i know it's working and the turbo lister for ebay works but takes forever to upload. What else can i do? Please can anyone help me. Thanks in advance. - Sith


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Practically no upload

      If you want some help, please start by describing how you are connected (extension or master socket, wired or wireless etc) and post your stats.

    4. #3
      sith's Avatar
      sith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Practically no upload

      Hi thanks for replying.
      Haven't had time to work out how to post my stats but i'm into the master socket and not wireless. Webpages are slow and uploads are practically non existent even when i do speed tests on websites nothing happens on the uploading.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Practically no upload

      Or the link I gave above . . . .

    7. #6
      sith's Avatar
      sith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Practically no upload

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 262977 294620 0 602 2006 35:58:52
      LAN 10M/100M 786271 717635 0 1132 596 145:47:56
      WLAN 11M/54M 9470 0 0 5 0 145:47:46


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4384 kbps 192 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 12.2 db 2.0 db

      Here are my stats i hope you can understand them and i hope this helps in some way. SAys my upload is 192kps? I wish!

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Practically no upload

      Noise Margin 12.2 db 2.0 db
      looks a bit low to me

      do you have a test socket to do a comparison set of stats(see first link in my sig)

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Practically no upload

      Quote Originally Posted by sith View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4384 kbps 192 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 12.2 db 2.0 db

      Here are my stats i hope you can understand them and i hope this helps in some way. SAys my upload is 192kps? I wish!
      With that upstream SNR I'm not suprised your upload speed is rubbish against what it should be.
      Are you connected to your main socket? Are there any extensions connected to the line? Is everything filtered and have you tried the test socket as suggested are a few questions that spring to mind.

    10. #9
      sith's Avatar
      sith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Practically no upload

      Hi and thanks all for your support.
      I am connected to the master socket with no extensions. Just the filter provided to me by sky (its the 2nd one i have tried) with the cable to the router and the cable to the phone in. I haven't tried the test socket yet but one thing to mention is that it worked perfect with my old set up which was a usb modem, however i did also use a router with my old isp from time to time when the wife and i used to play call of duty online with 2 pcs and i had the same problem with that router where like in dc++ for example someone would try and download somehing from me and it would start off with a good upload speed but then drop and drop and drop until it would time out.
      Could it be something to do with the lan socket on my pc? Maybe something in the bios? I don't know.

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Practically no upload

      see the upstream SNR in the test socket - if it jumps up but speed says the same then you're capped. If the speed goes up, its a wiring issue...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION