Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    tier 1

    This is a discussion on tier 1 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; what a waste of time tier 1 are , they have no clue and after speaking with them for 10 ...

    1. #1
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      tier 1

      what a waste of time tier 1 are , they have no clue and after speaking with them for 10 minutes they put the phone down on me all i want is for my interleaved delay to be increased a bit as customer resolutions decreased it to 8 the other day but it seems to make my line a bit unstable , why dont they have just a customer resolution team or an email where u can contact them on to ask for these sort of things to be done , instead of getting tier 1 agents who all they say is so u have a speed problem with ur line and then run threw the stupid trouble shooting thing and then say we cant put you threw to higher level , is there an email addy or a tech support form that goes threw to customer resolutions ?

      wonders how much these tier 1 noobs get paid to read some crap from a card and i wonder why sky employ these ppl who are clueless as to what interleaved depth is
      Last edited by Saturday; 28-12-07 at 10:03 PM. Reason: Removed insult


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: tier 1

      Try completing this form. If the first person that reads it cannot deal with it at least it can be emailed to someone who can.

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: tier 1

      Quote Originally Posted by iangilf View Post
      wonders how much these tier 1 noobs get paid to read some crap from a card and i wonder why sky employ these ppl who are clueless as to what interleaved depth is
      just so i do not get it wrong. what is interleaved depth ?

    5. #4
      astra's Avatar
      astra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYELL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      200
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: tier 1

      Interleave Depth: defines the number of bits (or bytes) in each block of data.

      ADSL supports a various levels of interleaving, the depth of which can range from 1 (no interleaving) to 64.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: tier 1

      Interleave depth is closely linked to interleave delay - change one and the other changes too.

      Interleave delay is what he means if he's talking about gaming issues.

    7. #6
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: tier 1

      what seems to be the best option for the depth ? mines currently at 8

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: tier 1

      I assume you mean delay?

      8 is low. Any lower and interleaving would effectively be off which is not a good idea on anything other than a near perfect line.

    9. #8
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: tier 1

      hi saturday what is yours set to ?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION