Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    exchange problems in london.

    This is a discussion on exchange problems in london. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have just been on the phone to skys technical department regarding me not being able to connect to broadband. ...

    1. #1
      wils81's Avatar
      wils81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      exchange problems in london.

      I have just been on the phone to skys technical department regarding me not being able to connect to broadband. The internet connection on the router does not light up. I spoke to someone on thursday who told me that it was an exchange problem and i should try to connect again in a couple of hours, it has now been 3 days and i still cant get connected. I rang them again today and they are saying they have no idea when the problem will be sorted. Is anyone else having this problem in east london.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: exchange problems in london.

      No service outages showing on the Easynet status page
      Easynet > Support Portal > Status Information
      Have you changed anything that may have affected your connection?


    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: exchange problems in london.

      easynet page is usually COMPLETELY different to the Sky one so i wouldn't put much faith in it tbh...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      MindwarpZ's Avatar
      MindwarpZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: exchange problems in london.

      Yeah - I got the same problem. Sky Broadband was running only a fortnight before my service packed in. I've been on the blower to Sky SUpport everyday since Thursday and they still have no idea what the problem is or an ETA for the resolution.

      I've been told it is impacting only "some Sky Connect" customers. Came as a surprise that I was a Sky Connect customer! I moved house 4 weeks ago and they never told me the product was going to change - Sky said it would be a straght swap to a new number. I thought my Max connection was slow so I've been complaining - no one at Sky SUpport said that I'd changed product!! They're still charging me the same! I dunno if 'SkyConnect' should be cheaper than 'Sky Max'.

      If anyone knows when ths problem might be fixed - please let me know!

    6. #5
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: exchange problems in london.

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      easynet page is usually COMPLETELY different to the Sky one so i wouldn't put much faith in it tbh...
      So what page would you suggest?


    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: exchange problems in london.

      there isn't one...tier 1 have access to the Sky one so you could just ring to check for outages if you know your exchange code
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: exchange problems in london.

      Quote Originally Posted by MindwarpZ View Post
      I've been told it is impacting only "some Sky Connect" customers. Came as a surprise that I was a Sky Connect customer!

      If anyone knows when ths problem might be fixed - please let me know!
      If we knew that then we would be a lot happier on calls, currently we are still waiting on BT figuring it out as it is their equipment/ service. One "fix" that sometimes works apparently is to switch off your router for a few mins and then reboot it.

    9. #8
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: exchange problems in london.

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      there isn't one...tier 1 have access to the Sky one so you could just ring to check for outages if you know your exchange code
      Well there ought to be!
      The home page is loads better now we've got the Skoogle male and tools, so a network status page would finish it off nicely..


    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: exchange problems in london.

      it would indeed - i don't know why its not public facing as it would save a lot of unnecessary calls and tickets...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: exchange problems in london.

      To quote Til'k " Indeed"


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION