Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Problem with interference (apparently)

    This is a discussion on Problem with interference (apparently) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Devil_Spawn your router seems perfect. your line supports 10mbit, and even at 2 you are getting no ...

    1. #11
      KOred's Avatar
      KOred is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with interference (apparently)

      Quote Originally Posted by Devil_Spawn View Post
      your router seems perfect. your line supports 10mbit, and even at 2 you are getting no errors

      its either a faulty router, or, more likely, the wireless card/drivers/the pc
      As I said though, it's happening with the new router too. It also happens with both the wireless connection and wired connection on my desktop and laptop. Whatsmore, Sky themselves say there is "massive interference" on the line. Here's the latest snapshot (after an afternoon of it constantly dropping). (By the way, I am trying to research for myself to understand what these figures mean!)

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 320 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2048 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 32.5 14.0
      Attn(dB): 14.0 11.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.8 0.8
      Max(Kbps): 10112 1280
      Rate (Kbps): 2048 320
      G.dmt framing
      K: 65(0) 11
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 65 11
      M: 2 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.2424 17.3333
      L: 528 96
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 4243372 4243370
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 144274656 18034322
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 348439262 0
      Data Cells: 58560634 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 117 0
      Total time = 20 hours 5 min 22 sec
      SF = 4243372
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 20 hours 5 min 22 sec
      SF = 4243372
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 22 sec
      SF = 18997
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Last edited by KOred; 23-12-07 at 09:50 AM. Reason: posted wrong stats!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problem with interference (apparently)

      If these are different stats, then something very strange is happening. They are identical, right down to the frame and second. I would say this is nigh on impossible. Are you sure you did not post the same stats twice?

      Edit - Stats corrected
      Last edited by Isitme; 23-12-07 at 12:21 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      KOred's Avatar
      KOred is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with interference (apparently)

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Are you sure you did not post the same stats twice?
      Looks like I did... I have corrected it now! Thanks

    5. #14
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Problem with interference (apparently)

      you had no errors in that 20 hour period, did you still have problems with your internet ?

    6. #15
      KOred's Avatar
      KOred is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with interference (apparently)

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      you had no errors in that 20 hour period, did you still have problems with your internet ?
      Yes, loads. Very confusing.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problem with interference (apparently)

      It is certainly strange, according to your stats you have had a trouble free 20 hours. Are you certain it is the net side that is dropping and not the LAN side? You can check that by looking at the Show Statistics pane on the router status page.

      It may be worthwhile keeping the Show Statistics open, minimized to the taskbar. If you connection drops open it and see what it is reporting.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      KOred's Avatar
      KOred is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with interference (apparently)

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Are you certain it is the net side that is dropping and not the LAN side? You can check that by looking at the Show Statistics pane on the router status page.
      If I'm looking at the right thing (LAN Uptime), it shows just over 24 hours (when I was fiddling with it yesterday lunchtime). Yet the "connection" has been down many times in that period.

      Just to re-iterate, it appears that even when the connection is down (ie I can't browse), any downloading activities appear to be continuing, and if I'm listening to the radio online, that sometimes continues.

    9. #18
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Problem with interference (apparently)

      The LAN (wired, Ethernet networking) and WLAN (wireless network) uptimes aren't particularly useful pieces of information really. The problem is that they don't register when the connection fails at the PC end. So say you've got a PC connected using an Ethernet cable, if your PC's network interface fails, the LAN uptime will just carry on increasing.

      The WAN uptime, on the other hand, tells you how long the ADSL connection between the exchange and the router has been working. If the ADSL connection drops, then that uptime value will be reset to zero.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problem with interference (apparently)

      even when the connection is down (ie I can't browse), any downloading activities appear to be continuing, and if I'm listening to the radio online, that sometimes continues.
      This leads me to wonder if the problem is with your PC settings and not the actual internet connection. Have a look at THIS article, it may be the root of your problem. Remember it is not only the connections you actually make that are running, there are always some running in the background which you don't see.

      As James says, the LAN uptime is not really useful but if it and the WAN time are similar, then you connection is not actually dropping.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      KOred's Avatar
      KOred is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with interference (apparently)

      Thanks. The LAN, WAN and WLAN all show the same up time - about 26 hours now.

      Thanks for the link but that doesn't seem to relate to my Events - although I am getting that Event ID as well.. (I'm on Vista btw). Looking in the event viewer however shows a load of Event ID 20227 with the message "...the user...dialed a connection named Broadband Connection which has failed. The error code returned on failure is 815".

      If memory serves, it appears these errors are occurring when the connection is dropping.

      Details on the error code at MS are here, but don't mean much to me!
      Microsoft Corporation

      Edit: The connection just dropped now and I got an instant Event ID 20227 error in Event Viewer. The router stats gave no indication of a loss of connection.
      Last edited by KOred; 23-12-07 at 04:27 PM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION