Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Replacement Master Faceplate.

    This is a discussion on Replacement Master Faceplate. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone, I'm suffering like many here with low noise margin and wildly differing connection speeds. I've been averaging 6-7 ...

    1. #1
      martyn's Avatar
      martyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Replacement Master Faceplate.

      Hi everyone,

      I'm suffering like many here with low noise margin and wildly differing connection speeds. I've been averaging 6-7 noise margin and connection speeds anywere from ~1mb - ~2mb as well as frequent disconnections, which are frustrating to say the least.

      I've connected to the test socket & my noise ratio went to 10.2 and connection speed went to 2mb - great - but what does it mean?

      I've been reading with interest about the replacement faceplates (XTE-2005) but I'm not sure it will work for me - the master socket is on the other side of the house to the wired PC.

      Am I right in thinking that the XTE might only solve half of my problem & I would need to run another lead from the new XTE to the study ?

      Or does the above testing mean I have a different problem?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      zrerz's Avatar
      zrerz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q router
      Sky TV: Sky Q silver
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      There have been many similar discussions over on ADSLguide on this subject, it seems the gist of it problem wise is so called secondary wiring, cables perhaps as extention cables to other non master telephone sockets running out of the main BT master socket, or junction boxes if it's an older telephone installation.
      I had the same problem, after getting rid of NTL, the equipment and old BT socket were in differant locations, so paid BT to place brand new line/cables to the exact location I needed the ADSL, now I only have one BT master socket, and getting full 22 megs down my line via LLU (I'm lucky, I live very close to my local exchange).
      One other thing i found helped, was to use these in every telephone socket you're going to use:
      http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop...ProductID=1652
      They are worth every penny i promise.
      Dave

    4. #3
      martyn's Avatar
      martyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by zrerz View Post
      I had the same problem, after getting rid of NTL, the equipment and old BT socket were in differant locations, so paid BT to place brand new line/cables to the exact location I needed the ADSL, now I only have one BT master socket, and getting full 22 megs down my line via LLU (I'm lucky, I live very close to my local exchange).

      They are worth every penny i promise.
      Cheers zerez, how much did it cost for BT to do the wiring ?

      Quote Originally Posted by zrerz View Post

      One other thing i found helped, was to use these in every telephone socket you're going to use:
      http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop...ProductID=1652
      They are worth every penny i promise.
      Do you think these filters are as good as the faceplate they are certainly cheaper ?

    5. #4
      zrerz's Avatar
      zrerz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q router
      Sky TV: Sky Q silver
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      certainly not a substitute for the face plate, but the splitters mentioned helped me get a clear, constant noise free conection, hence the high speeds I'm getting now:
      Billion 7402VGP BiPAC 54Mbs ADSL2/2+ Voip Wireless Router with QoS + FXS + Lifeline
      Downstream – 22222397
      Upstream - 768000
      SNR Margin – Down: 18dB – Up: 5.5dB
      Line Attenuation – Down: 11.5dB Up: 25dB
      I know BT's prices have gone and changed since I had my job done, they charged about 70 if I recall correctly, but it was money well spent, no more crap extention leads or duff internal wiring, this would still be my first choice and best advice for you, if you can, get BT in and do the new installion.
      Dave

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @martyn

      zrerz is correct they are very good but if they are hanging in the open they can be very easily damaged this is one reasons I have been advising people that the faceplate's are better.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question

      Don't know if it is of any interest but try www.readman.dsl.pipex.com/other/ukphonecatwiring, explains how to renew/replace the telephone wiring in your house.

    8. #7
      martyn's Avatar
      martyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post
      @martyn

      zrerz is correct they are very good but if they are hanging in the open they can be very easily damaged this is one reasons I have been advising people that the faceplate's are better.
      Yes, thanks for that - do you agree that what I'm getting through the test line means I have a problem with the faceplate & therefore either solution would help?

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I do agree there is a problem if you can improve things via the test socket and yes either option would help.

      Stupid question I know but do you have filters on all you phone points in use?
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #9
      martyn's Avatar
      martyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post
      Stupid question I know but do you have filters on all you phone points in use?
      Yes - I only use 2 sockets in the house - both have the original bundled filters. Interestingly when I unplug the Sky+ box from the master socket (in the lounge) the SNR goes up by about 3 !

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yep I have a similar problem years ago about the sky box so I guess the sky+ would be more or less the same the modems in them are not that good and thats when I was told about the faceplate's I now have them on all 3 phone points.

      Mind I also hate the dingily dangily one as I broke 3 or 4 of them with my wheelchair
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION